Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

lisachrystine

Delimex Taquitos Are No Longer gluten-free

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

This is my first post, but I've found myself here many times while searching "Is [insert name of food I need to know RIGHT NOW] gluten free?" I've gotten a lot of help from all of you, thanks! I was just heating up some taquitos for the kids (I have 2 Celiacs) and thought it was about time for another verification, so I called the company and they told me that none of the Delimex taquitos are gluten free anymore. I asked why because I didn't see any questionable ingredients and I knew they used to be and she said it might be because they are on shared lines now - they did used to be gluten-free, but are not anymore. I apologize if this has been mentioned before, but everything I searched said that these were gluten free and they are not - at least according to the company. Now I have to figure out what to make for lunch - and I have a whole big Costco box of these - to feed the hubby now, I guess!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They may be the same as they have always been. Many companies that once labelled gluten-free ,but did not test for gluten, have stopped labeling them gluten-free. A legal CYA thing. Some companies have stopped labeling gluten-free until they see if and what the law may be. Which just adds to all the confusion! :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As was noted, nothing may have changed other than the lawyer's risk assessment.

If you are particularly sensitive to shared lines, certainly be cautious. But realize that they may also still be perfectly safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As was noted, nothing may have changed other than the lawyer's risk assessment.

If you are particularly sensitive to shared lines, certainly be cautious. But realize that they may also still be perfectly safe.

My DS7 is really sensitive to cc (we can't do Amy's products anymore - he kept getting sick). I was wondering if this might be it, but they sometimes change ingredients before they change packaging, so I guess I'll have to wait and see. We may risk it again if I start seeing everyone say they're doing ok with them still in a few months.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, Cindylocks said:

The website says they are gluten free. not sure if they changed back ?

F289E09C-C22C-4127-9657-6C03EEAC635E.jpeg

Maybe 5 years ago when this was posted they did not say “gluten-free”?  Products change over the years

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...