Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts

Ads by Google:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

I'm more celiac than you

Advanced Members
  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About I'm more celiac than you

  • Rank
    New Community Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • ICQ
  1. I have heard that the side orders of rice are gluten-free. Does anyone know about the new border bowls they have? They give you a packet of sauce to put on yourself and I know that contains gluten, but how about the main ingredients?
  2. I play High School lacrosse and last season (before being diagnosed) I experienced joint pains so bad that I was put on the injured list for over half the season. The pains occured mostly in my knees and ankles but some times in other areas such as my hip and groin. I was told by my doctor that it was probably related to celiac. Has anybody else had symptoms like these?
  3. I have noticed that whiskey gives me a different kind of "buzz" than other drinks such as rum or vodka. I feel more of a lightheaded feeling which may or may not have something to do with the celiac disease.
  4. I'm from ann arbor, michigan
  5. I posted this in another category but I was also wondering about Amstel Light beer. I found a quote from a rep at Heineken USA that said that although it contains Barley, the gluten content in Amstel light is "lower than the gluten free standard". Is this possible?
  6. This was quoted from a different post: "Dear Ms. Johnson: Thank you for your recent email message. We appreciate you taking time to contact us, as we value comments from consumers. Heineken USA has been informed by our parent company, Heineken NV, that our beer does not contain wheat or other grain adjuncts. Our recipe contains only barley, hops, yeast and water. Although barley has a source of gluten, the gluten contents of our products is lower than the gluten free level. Consequently, Amstel Light is considered gluten free. Thank you for your interest in Heineken USA. Kind Regards, Kristen Heineken USA" Is that possible that although it contains barley, the gluten content is lower than the "gluten free level"? I personally thought that even trace amounts of gluten were harmful. Thanks
  7. Even though whiskey is distilled from gluten containing grains, is it still ok to drink? I have heard that the distillation process breaks down the gluten, and I know that Scotch Whiskey (double distilled) is ok. But I am still unclear about whether or not single distilled whiskey is gluten-free.