Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

psawyer

Moderators
  • Content count

    6,366
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    48

psawyer last won the day on May 6 2016

psawyer had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

679 Excellent

About psawyer

  • Rank
    Moderator
  • Birthday 07/04/1954

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Near Toronto, Canada

Recent Profile Visitors

63,619 profile views
  1. I eat both Rice Chex and Corn Chex regularly, and do not have a problem with either one. I also eat gluten-free Rice Krispies. About three times a year we travel to the US to buy Corn Chex--they are not yet available in Canada. I have seen concerns about Cheerios. They weren't on the list of things I missed when I went gluten-free 15 years ago. Maybe I will try them, one day. As Karen said, less than <n> ppm can be zero, or any number less that <n>. The statement refers to the test done--not the food's gluten content.
  2. I'm with Karen on this question. Vinegar in general is safe and gluten-free, but MALT vinegar is the exception to the rule. While almost anything can be malted, it is almost always barley (unless explicitly stated otherwise).
  3. The wheat and milk being present is old news, first disclosed under FALCPA legislation in 2006. A small amount of each is contained in a flavor which is added to the oil in which the products are partially fried before being frozen. The fry oil at the store does not contain flavor. There is no detectable gluten in the final product. Make you own decision. I made mine long ago.
  4. McDonalds is a go-to place for me when travelling. The hash browns are fried at the front by the window crew, and share fryer oil oil with the fries, which are also gluten-free. The eggs and sausage patties are done on the same grill at the back where the beef patties are done, by the grill crew. Nothing that contains gluten is prepared on the griddle. Ask for a Big Breakfast without a bun/biscuit and you will be fine. Over 16 years doing this--never had a problem once.
  5. This is an old discussion, but nothing has changed. I'm sorry you had a bad reaction to something containing caramel color, but is gluten-free. Perhaps you reacted to phosphoric acid, which is frequently found in products that also contain caramel color. It is a stomach irritant under some conditions.
  6. GFinDC has good advice. If you have a self-cleaning oven, put your cast iron in for a clean cycle (wash first to remove any overt residue). The temperature and duration (over 600F for 30 mins) will break down any gluten. After cooling, re-season with fresh oil. Stainless steel implements washed in a dishwasher will be fine. Ceramics which do not have detectable scratches will likewise be fine after a run through a dishwasher.
  7. Some people do react to annatto, but it is not derived from a gluten containing grain; from a celiac perspective it is gluten-free and safe.
  8. Advil (ibuprofen) is gluten-free, but can be a stomach irritant, especially if taken on an empty stomach. That said, I will also place my bet on the garlic and onions. As Raven said, eating more than once a day may also help. An empty stomach is likely to be an irritable stomach.
  9. Reactions to sweeteners are common, whether you have celiac disease or not. The intolerances can be identified by an elimination diet . Exclude them all for a week. If symptoms disappear, then carefully try introducing one at a time, and observe the results. You will know which ones to avoid, but it will take time and patience to figure it all out.
  10. FDA rules on spices: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/cfrsearch.cfm?fr=101.22 https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/cfrsearch.cfm?fr=182.10 Grains can not be included. Section 101.22(a)(2) says, in part, "except for those substances which have been traditionally regarded as foods." That would cover grains.
  11. I eat Corn Chex frequently, and have never had a problem. Well, I do have a problem, actually. They are not sold here in Canada so I have to cross-border shop to get them.
  12. I don't eat chocolate often, but I have never had a gluten reaction to Toblerone. I trust it to be gluten-free.
  13. We use BRM gluten-free products, including the oats, and have never had a problem with them.
  14. A minority of persons with celiac disease react to oats in a manner similar to the big three gluten grains, even if the oats are 100% pure. You may be one of them. I would try eliminating all oats for a while and see if your symptoms clear. If they do, you may need to avoid oats as well as wheat, rye and barley.
  15. My two cents: just more fear mongering. Caramel color is safe. Distilled spirits are safe. Oak barrels are safe. Flavoring is safe. Does the article cite a single example of something that is not safe? No. Fear mongering.