This is true. I am very sensitive to gluten of any kind and modified corn starch does not have gluten in it. It is purely corn starch modified, which means it may have a chemical or something in it which is like another ingredient to thicken it. It is not a big deal, compared to most of the semi raw chemicals most of us are consuming every day. So after all my blabbing, modified corn starch is gluten free. The thing you really have to watch out for is modified food starch. I don't know about any one else, but it makes me sick within hours and sometimes thirty to forty- five minutes.