The attached images speak for themselves. These are two boxes of Cheesecake-flavored Jello Instant Pudding we opened today, purchased from the same store, at the same time, on the same day. See the difference? My young daughter (a new celiac) caught it.
Yes, there is "BARLEY" explicitly called out on the right box as part of the NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR. However, the left box (apparently manufactured earlier and with an earlier expiration date) makes no mention of this. Hmmm....
This seriously begs the question in my mind of whether the left box really contains no barley and is gluten-free, ...or not.
Hope this tip helps someone else out. It was definitely a wake-up call to me! Be careful out there.