Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts

Ads by Google:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts


Advanced Members
  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About neil

  • Rank
    New Community Member
  • Birthday
  1. Hi Allen As an avid beer drinker before being diagnosed with Celiac, that's what I miss most. I've switched to cider, most of which are gluten-free. Check with the manufacturer. You can even get cider on tap in some bars. Almost all distilled spirits are gluten-free, even malt whiskeys. Also, most wines are gluten-free. From your user name, looks like you could be in the Bay Area. I'm down in the South Bay. Neil
  2. I just bought some Farmer John Premium ham cheap at Safeway. I checked the Delphi list and it says that it contains soy sauce so is not gluten-free. There's no ingredient list but there is a "Cured With" listing on the pack. This doesn't mention anything gluteny: Water, salt, dextrose, Potassium Lactate, Sodium Phosphates, Sodium Diacetate, Sodium Erythorbate, Sodium Nitrite. And that's it. No mention of soy sauce. Not very yummy, but no sign of gluten. Does this sound safe? Has Farmer John changed the ingredients?
  3. Frankly Natural (http://www.franklynatural.com/ although this seems to have been down for the last week) do a great gluten free range of bars. I wrote to Cytosport and they wrote back saying that Cytomax energy drinks are also gluten-free.
  4. Thanks guys. Guess I'll just have to put up with it until it's gone. Hopefully it will disappear of its own accord over the next day or two. I think I have PF Chang's to thank for getting glutened even though I ordered off the gluten-free menu.
  5. I was diagnosed with celiac disease about 2 months ago. I've been on a gluten-free diet for the last 3 weeks. This weekend I've come out in a rash over my hands, arms, neck and scalp. I'm wondering if this may be the result of being glutened. It fits the description of Dermatitis Herpetiformis very well. I was one of the "lucky" ones that didn't have any symptoms prior to my diagnosis apart from anemia, so I don't know what to expect when I do get glutened.
  6. I've sent the following email to Dry Blackthorn seeking clarification. As I'm hoping to drink cider as a gluten free alternative to beer, I'm keen to hear their response: Thanks for your response. I posted it on the celiac.com message board to let others know about this, but some doubts have been raised. Apparently another member of the message board got a reply from Dry Blackthorn stating: "Further to your enquiry on Blackthorn Cider. I can confirm that it is gluten free, A glucose/fructose syrup derived from a wheat base is used in its manufacture, but there is no residual gluten present." This led someone to state: "Reading this I understand that they remove the gluten to codex limits which allows them to say gluten free but in combination with the other email I find it unlikely that "there is no residual gluten present" otherwise they would have posted the testing method and detection limits." Could you clarify this and, if possible, post the testing method and detection limits?
  7. I tried a Frankly Natural energy bar today - great big "Gluten-free" label on the pack. It was delicious! I tried the apricot and then rushed out and bought 2 of their tropical which I haven't tried yet. www.franklynatural.com Not sure about low calorie as it is fairly chunky at 100g, which is roughly double the average bar. Highly recommended.
  8. I'm on my second day being gluten free. Just tried Ener-g rice bread as a substitute for real bread - yuk! As for alcohol, I contacted the manufacturer of Dry Blackthorn hard cider and they stated it is gluten-free. That's my beer-substitute from now on. It's a lot cheaper than the gluten-free special beers and you can get it on tap at some bars.
  9. Got the following response from Dry Blackthorn Cider: Thank you for your e-mail and enquiry regarding Blackthorn Cider. We are pleased to inform you that Blackthorn Cider complies with the Codex Alimentarius standard for gluten free products. Thank you for taking the time to contact us, we hope this information is of use to you. Kind Regards, Kirsty Haynes Customer Care Administrator 01275 890 294 kirsty.haynes@cbrands.eu.com
  10. Hi Cytomax is also gluten free. I got this reply from Cytosport: Our entire line of Cytomax products are gluten free. However, there are a few flavors in our other lines that you would want to stay away from: Cookies n Crème Chocolate Banana Crunch Chocolate Mint Chip Neil