This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What Is Likelihood Of Getting Positive Endoscopy If Blood Labs Were Negative?

JChi

JChi Newbie

Hi, I had a full panel for celiac testing done last week which came back negative (although dgp igg/iga was not tested.)  I have a colonoscopy and endoscopy scheduled for next week.  Are there people who have had neg blood but positive endoscopy?  It seems like I mostly see posts for the other way around.

I have been eating "very low" gluten diet for about 2 years and back to full gluten for the past 6 weeks.  I didn't feel too bad for the first 3 weeks or so but recently, I've had stomach cramps/pain everyday, frequent diarrhea, pain in hips, legs and low back (right side).  I'm hoping 7 weeks eating gluten will be long enough for my doc to see if there is any damage.  I've read I should ask him to take 6 - 8 samples, even in areas that might look ok.  Is this accurate?  Any other tips or advise from those who have been through this would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master

Open Original Shared Link

Is it possible to have a negative blood test, but a positive biopsy?

While rare, it is possible to have a negative blood test and still have celiac disease. tTG sensitivity is approximately 98%, which means that 2% of all celiacs may have a normal tTG level. Sometimes tTG antibodies are not produced enough to show up in the blood stream and can only be detected in the intestinal mucosa by special means.

IgA deficiency is a reason why you might have a negative blood test, but a positive biopsy.