This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Herb Gardens

GF Lover

GF Lover Rising Star

Okay gang.  I have had great luck getting my herb garden going.  They are healthy and I suspect I can begin using them.  

Questions.  When is it safe to cut leaves off and where to cut?  How do I dry them?  How best to use them, what type of food dishes?  When should I use dry vs. Fresh?  

I am a complete novice when it comes to cooking with herbs.  I don't know what tastes well in what food, etc.

Currently I have: basil - lime, lemon and cinnamon. Rosemary, Cilantro, Chives, Stevia, hot & spicy oregano and Lavender.  I also have (I forget the name) but it is yellow and orange blooms that taste like pepper.  And I have Swiss Chard, does it have to be as big as in the store to cut and eat? 

So I'm finally getting to recognize the taste of these herbs and really have no clue how to use them so I need lots of help with this.  Oh, and as far as the lavender goes, I'd like to use in the bath or just to freshen a room, that sort of thing so any suggestions how to do this would be great.  

On a separate note.  I have a Mushroom that just popped up in my front flower Garden.  No mushroom has ever grown there before. Brought me tears.

Colleen

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

IrishHeart Veteran