This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cross Contamination Question

Chef Steve

Chef Steve Newbie

I am a foodservice chef in a small Midwestern college, and serving our student with gluten intolerance is a huge priority for us. We will soon be opening a new facility that features a lot of made to order items, especially in our Asian wok area. We intend to have saute pans specifically designated for non-gluten cooking.

Are there steps that must be taken when washing these pans? Could we possibly cross contaminate our pans by washing them with pans that have had pasta cooked in them? By the way, it is a three step process where they are scrubbed in one sink, rinsed in another, and then sanitized in a third sink. Any help that you can offer will be greatly appreciated.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

psawyer Proficient

A lot will depend on how thorough the process is at each stage. If the pans are rigorously scrubbed in phase one, and then physically processed in the second phase, they should be clean after the third phase. But just dipping in soapy water and then in "clean" water will not be enough. The sanitizer will kill micro-organisms, but gluten is not alive and thus can not be killed.

BelleVie Enthusiast

Chef Steve, can I just say that my heart is warmed at the action that you are taking to ensure the safety of your students? Thank you, thank you.  :)

Adalaide Mentor