This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Nervous About Family Vacation... Help!

MYSweetPea

MYSweetPea Newbie

Hi everyone!  :) This is my first new post so I'll give a little history - I have been gluten free for about 3 months now. It has completely changed my life! I had really bad panic attacks & stomach pains before and now I don't have them at all! (Well, unless I get accidentally glutened.) I'm relatively new to this so I haven't gone out to eat very much. 

I'm going on a cruise to Bermuda in August and I'm really nervous! I know that the cruise line knows of my diet but I'm scared about being accidentally glutened. Also I'm going with my extended family (ALL of which don't understand ANYTHING about gluten intolerance at all) and I know they all want to eat out at least once in Bermuda.

I have done some research and have emailed different restaurants but I usually get one word answers which doesn't help me much.

Does anyone have any tips for me about being gluten free and traveling? Or even eating out while I'm in Bermuda.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Gemini Experienced

I came upon this website that might be of help to you:  Open Original Shared Link

It is good that you are doing this because you need to get back on the horse and live life and not be afraid to travel.  I have been doing this since 2005 and yes, I have been glutened a few times while traveling but it may happen, it may not.  You will become more comfortable the longer you do it.