This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Im All Over The Place

Patt

Patt Explorer

Im relatively new at this. My doc has been hounding me for years to go gluten-free and I just brushed it off and avoided the subject as much as possible. I "accidently" went gluten-free this spring when I went on a crazy diet to loose weight, which was pretty much meat and vegeables only and some salt and pepper. Well I felt amazing while on the diet but when I acheived my goal I still limited myself exept for the odd fried chicken fix. My boss pointed out to me that my doc might have been right. As much as I hated that it was true. now that I am off completely I find when I slip up I get 10000% worse symptoms than I ever did before. things I didnt even realise were not normal. Im almost afraid to eat because looking back on my once a week cheats all summer, now I realize why Ive had the most bizare summer of my life.

now my biggest concern is cross contamination and copping with the daily "would you like some______" from my coworkers

I try to explain why I'm on this diet without saying "because im depressive or it gives me anxietey attacks" but people just dont seem to get it. Example: The security guard comes in every single day with a muffin or some cake and I tell him every day I cannot eat anything that is made with wheat. Then I nearly lost it one day and said what is your muffin made out of? I nearly fell off my chair when he said I dont know.