This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newbie Here, Pursuing A Diagnosis

SugarSpike

SugarSpike Newbie

I thought I would introduce myself and tell my story so far. Im from the UK and am currently eating gluten again to be re-tested for Coeliac.

I first stumbled across gluten and what it was and the intolerances people had to it whilst trying to find an answer for my acne problems which I have suffered since I was about 12, I am now 31. People on acne forums and such noted an improvement in their skin went they went gluten free, the more I read the more I realised alot of symptoms affected me. I had over the past few years suffered alot of stomach aches and bloatedness and headaches were a regular occurance aswell.

I started experimenting with gluten-free and cut out major sources of it such as bread and pasta etc, I hadnt been doing this long when I decided to ask my GP for the blood test. I ate as much as I could a week before the test, but at the time didnt realise it should of been alot longer, the test came back negative.

I still carried on cutting out on the major sources but was never very strict with it, but still felt alot better.

In the mean time I was finally getting properly tested for my hypoglycemic problems I had suffered since I can remember, the dr's could never find anything wrong with me but my blood sugar dropped very low one day and they referred me to an endrocrinologist. I thought maybe this could also be a possible cause of my skin issues, as thats also connected to insulin rises and such, then I also discovered a link with coeliac and hypoglycemia!!