This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Limiting cross-contam from non-Celiac kids at parties

I'm a glutant

I'm a glutant Rookie

I know this isn't strictly a question about managing a Celiac child, but I thought I'd post here because this is where the parents are.

I have Celiac myself, and I'm very sensitive to even tiny amounts of cross-contamination.  I keep a completely gluten-free house.  But I have toddlers, age 2 and 4, who so far aren't showing symptoms and have tested negative.  My problem comes up when they're invited to toddler birthday parties and the like -- there are always gluten-filled treats and cake, and so far I do let them have these treats.  But since I'm taking care of them, wiping their hands, etc, I keep getting sick afterward.  I do ask my husband to directly handle them as much as possible in this way, but he can't always come along, or else they've run to me and pawed me before I can stop them.  I take off their clothes as soon as we're home, and there we wash hands very carefully with soap -- but despite my best efforts, I'm getting CC from them.  Any tips? 

I know this will be easier when they're older, and don't need my help with every little thing -- but for now, I'm hoping for ideas.  I don't want to limit them too much (missing parties altogether, or forbidding these treats), since so far they don't have signs of Celiac themselves...

Many thanks, in advance!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ravenwoodglass Mentor