This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newbie Here

Fundog

Fundog Enthusiast

Hi, I've been lurking for a couple of months and finally decided to sign up. :)  I don't actually have celiac disease, or at least I've tested negative on two tests.  I do have a serious problem with eczema, which is triggered/aggravated by wheat.  I am absolutely certain wheat is a factor, at least, and so is my nurse practitioner.  And since there are no support groups or forums for folks with wheat sensitivities, I decided to come here.  My sister does have celiac disease, another sister is deathly allergic to nuts, another has a lot of environmental allergies, and I have thyroid disease.  I've been learning how to bake all over again, using grains I've never tried before and omitting wheat.  For those of you with DH, I can truly relate and empathize!  My brain rewards me for scratching, and it is so hard to stop!  I've already had cellulitis once. :(   Anyway, I'm rambling.  I just wanted to say hello and introduce myself.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cyclinglady Grand Master

Welcome!  ? . There are many folks here who do not have an official diagnosis of celiac disease for a variety of reasons.  Are you going to eliminate gluten (wheat, barley, rye) or just wheat?  With such a strong family history, I would suggest going gluten free.  

By the way, I tested negative to the TTG IGA and the Iga deficieny tests too (and still do in follow-up testing).  I only test positive to the DGP IGa.  Biopsies revealed moderate to severe damage.  How did your sister test out on the blood panel?