This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Weight loss

Theri

Theri Apprentice

I have been eating gluten free for over 2 months. I eat lots of nuts and carbs and have gone from 103 lbs.to 95 lbs.. I do not know how to gain weight and rid anxiety from being underweight. My behavior is becoming a bit cooky. Still waiting for endoscopy to confirm if celiac. Will do gluten challenge before hand. Taking b complex, d3 b12 sublinguel magnesium and multi. The nutritionist I am suppose to see is unreachable. Has anyone successfully gained weight. Oh am prediabetic and trying to eat healthy gluten free food. Thankyou!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

GFinDC Veteran

Hello Theri,

Welcome to the forum! :)

It can take longer than 2 months to recover from celiac disease damage.  Actually, a year or more is common.   If you are trying to avoid diabetes, you should avoid carbs and sugar.  They are your enemy.  Instead eat meats, nuts, veggies, and eggs.  Concentrate on protein and fats instead of carbs.  You need high quality protein to heal your body.

PinkyGurl Explorer

From your post it sounds like you diet is a bit unbalance(nuts and carbs). You should be eating meats, cheese, carbs, veggies, fruit and good fats. (Avocado, olive oil)

Theri Apprentice

It is. I eat chicken and eggs. Veggies and fruit make me ill. I would like to eat them.

cyclinglady Grand Master
2 hours ago, Theri said:

It is. I eat chicken and eggs. Veggies and fruit make me ill. I would like to eat them.