This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Lost! CC Confusion!

JesLin

JesLin Rookie

Hi all! I am new to this Ceilac thing and am so thankful for this site! I was diagnosed just this week and have since been reading post after post trying to comprehend the road ahead of me.

Like others when newly diagnosed, I am actually happy since I now have an answers to all of my health problems that have been running my life the past 10 years! But I am also really really sad that I will have to change my eating habits so drastically - I think I am in the mourning/denial stage right now. Of course I will do it - health comes first! But still very sad. 

My biggest question/concern centers around eating out/travelling. I am fine to skip the bun, get the gluten free pasta, order a salad without dressing and eat out a whole lot less but this whole cross contamination thing is making my head run in circles! I understand that even the slightest trace of gluten is harmful for a Celiac. I know that if there is gluten in the kitchen and the restaurant doesn't have strict rules surrounding the handling of gluten free items I could be in for some trouble. I have read in some posts that some Celiac's won't eat the potatoes in a breakfast joint cooked on the same grill as the pancakes whereas other Celiac's are fine with it. I have seen other posts and blogs where Celiac's eat out quite regularly and celebrate when a 'regular' resto has gluten free options (tho I am sure that many of those places don't guarantee or even try to avoid cross contamination!).