This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Intolerance?

Navrig

Navrig Newbie

Hi there, this is my first post.  I have had a suspicion for a while that I have a mild intolerance to gluten.  It's not normally a great inconvenience to my lifestyle but this week I have felt it more than usual (I think).

My background is male, 54, fit (cycling and training), weight is good, alcohol is weekends only, don't smoke.  I take a small weekly dose of methotrexate for psoriasis.  No other regular medications.  My diet is mixed.  I can be very good with lots of fruit, veg, salad, low fat protein and then I can swing the other way to easy make, fat food.  I tend to avoid fast food from large chains.

At home we always buy a seeded batch loaf for our bread (mass produced though).  Occassionally we will buy ciabata rolls which are fairly simple white flour rolls.

My usual breakfast is muesli.  I've had a look at the brand I buy and the ingredients are:  wholegrain oat flakes, dates (22%), wholegrain barley flakes, toasted wheat flakes, nuts (10.7%) [almonds (6%), roasted hazelnuts (3%), brazil nuts (1.7%)], wholegrain wheat flakes, sunflower seeds (2.3%).

When eating the seeded batch loaf (couple of slices every other day) and muesli (every day) I don't tend to have any symptoms of gluten intolerance.  If I move away from these products to something which are processed white flour I tend to feel bloated.

If I have salad for lunch I feel fine but if business meetings prevent making a salad I end up eating sandwiches and these leave me bloated.