This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Trying To Figure Out Family History

guy220d

guy220d Rookie

I am new to the celiac world (a year ago, I'd never heard of it) and exploring whether or not I have the condition. Unfortunately, I went on the gluten-free diet a couple of months before my blood tests (because I was feeling so bad), and the blood tests, according to my MD, came back negative. What I'm wondering about is my late father. 20 years ago, in his 60's, he was diagnosed with intestinal lymphoma (had a large section of his sm. intestine removed) and 10 years ago he was diagnosed with Hashimoto's thyroiditis. Two years ago, he was diagnosed with stomach cancer and died pretty quickly, last summer. Dad was never diagnosed with celiac disease. I know lymphoma and the thyroiditis can go along with celiac disease, but does stomach cancer? It seems like I've read in these celiac forums about other family members that have had stomach cancer.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Carriefaith Enthusiast

People with celiac disease that do not follow the gluten free diet have about a 40% increased risk of stomach cancer than someone without celiac disease or someone with celiac disease who is following the diet. Intestinal lymphoma is one of the types of stomach cancers associated with celiac disease. I'm really sorry about your dad :(

phakephur Apprentice