This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Peace Corps?

Wish

Wish Newbie

Hi everyone,

I am a college student and I was thinking of joining the Peace Corps when I graduate (this will not be for several more years, but because of the Celiac disease I want to have everything well planned out in advance). A lot of the areas the Peace Corps works in (southeast Asia, Latin America, etc.) do not have wheat-based diets, so it doesn't seem like this is an unrealistic goal. However, I was wondering if there is anyone out there who has actually been in the Peace Corps and can tell me if it was possible to maintain a strict gluten-free diet while abroad. If so, where did you go and what steps did you take to ensure that that the gluten-free diet wouldn't cause problems? Any input would be greatly appreciated :) .

~Wish

• 2 weeks later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

hsd1203 Newbie

unfortunately this may be out of your hands as I know several people who have been turned down from the peace corps due to medical reasons (one orthopedic, one mental health). I would see if you could check with them and see if it is on their list of exclusions, just to be on the safe side to gove yourself time to make alternate plans for your life if necessary. I'm sure there are similar options out there if you get turned down for this. best of luck.

moxsox Newbie

Wish,