This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Communion Question

pogirl1786

pogirl1786 Apprentice

my church has gluten free wafers that i can take for communion, but i was wondering....if i dipped my gluten free wafer in the same juice as everyone else, wouldn't that get me some gluten? i don't know why i didn't think about it before, but i was wondering what anyone else did for communion...just not take anything, or what?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ravenwoodglass Mentor

I am not a expert by any means but I would not chance it. Perhaps youjr celebrant could bless a seperate small glass for the celiacs?

• 3 weeks later...
LeeV Apprentice

Hello,

My daughter was diagnosed 2 months ago and hasn't been able to receive communion since. Where does your church get their gluten free wafers? I don't know if you read an article recently about a little girl w/celiac who made her first communion w/a gluten free wafer. The priest from her parish was reprimanded for allowing it and they turned around and would not consider her having made her communion. It was null and voided! How unfair.

Lee

flagbabyds Collaborator

I wouldn't at all take the chance!!!! YOu would defenitly get some gluten because there are wafer crumbs in there and then as soon as you put your gluten-free wafer in there it ccan pick up the gluten crumbs adn you can get sick

sctwelk Newbie