This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Venting About The Weight Issue

Guest redkms

Guest redkms

Hi - I am new to the gluten-free diet (about 1 1/2 months) and have noticed the same thing. Suddenly my scale has advanced drastically, and seems to be on the rise every time I weigh. I have noticed that I am also hungy all of the time and nothing seems to satisfy that hunger. I never had to worry about my weight before and feel I am about to tread in a teritory I have never been before. As I have been reading the labels and going to Whole Foods for gluten-free products, I've noticed that the calorie content and fat content can be pretty high in some of these food products - it is almost shocking. For me, I am battling whether my joint problems are from celiac's disease or Rheumatoid Arthritis, as I have tested positive for both. The diet is critical right now (don't want the biopsy), because I would rather have a yeast allergy than RA. It is getting a little depressing with the weight gain, combined w/the prednisone (currently down to 7 mg per day, start 6mg on Monday).

I went through a sweet stage and then a Captain Crunch (actually 4 boxes in one week - don't have any problems with oats). Now, I am at the panic stage and trying to forgoe any cravings I have because I don't like the weight gain or the "bloated" look or feel. I've lost my waist and all of my weight seems to be around the middle and not elsewhere.

So, I need some suggestions for some healthy snack food (other than raisins and carrots), and maybe some low-carb ones as well - I want to start watching my fat and sugar intake as well.