This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Coconut Flour

chirunner

chirunner Newbie

Hi! Newbie here.

I just bought some coconut flour to try. Has anyone had success with this?

Any tips? I was thinking about trying to make chocolate chip cookies. Any great ideas?

Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Sweetfudge Community Regular

Saw this, and thought i'd post it for you. From Ursula:

Check out this new coconut flour Dr. Mercola is selling, it looks promising!

Open Original Shared Link

chirunner Newbie

Thanks! Hope it tastes good!

Gentleheart Enthusiast

I'm looking for even one recipe for muffins, cake, bread or something using this GREAT coconut flour, which doesn't contain and depend upon EGGS to work. I've tried and tried, but have only produced gummy failures. The nutritional/fiber value of this flour is really substantial and I'd love to use it Anybody?

Slackermommy Rookie

Yes!! I have a great recipe. (It also on www.recipezaar.com Recipe #205618.) My kids and husband (all gluten eaters) love these.

They are fluffy, moist and don't taste gluten free. Takes 2 minutes to mix them up. Coconut flour is high fiber, and expensive, but you use very little. Play with it, it's great. Trust me.

Oh, one more tip, they can stick. I use the natural paper liners, and they work great with these. If you don't use liners, grease VERY well.

3 tablespoons butter, melted (or coconut oil)

3 eggs

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 mashed banana

chopped nuts (optional)

toasted coconut for tops (optional)