This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Prometheus Lab Test

mommyof2

mommyof2 Newbie

Hi folks, Newbie here - I have visited the board for info but this is my first time posting. I have been followed by a GI for over a year for reflux disease and a swallowing problem. Once we got those symptoms improved I brought up some other digestive problems I had been having with him and had tried gluten-free for a few weeks and had some improvement. He ordered blood tests - one out of the three were positive and did a biopsy with my last endo which was negative. At my last GI visit I told him I was staying mostly gluten-free because I felt better but when I cheat (which I seem to do at least once a week) I can have problems for several days. This time around he ordered the tests by Prometheus Labs which include a 5 marker serology with genetics reflex. He said I didn't have to be consuming gluten because the genetic marker will not be affected by that. I am wondering if it will be a more conclusive test if I am actually eating more gluten. The original blood tests may have been negative because I was mostly gluten free at the time - I had a sandwich the day before thinking I should eat some in case he did the blood test. So the question is should I be eating gluten and for how long before the test? I just took the lab referral home with me so I could post and get some input before I go. 2 of my mom's sister's had celiac's and I think my mom does too so the genetic test will be helpful to convince my mom to be tested.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

KaitiUSA Enthusiast