This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New Here... Thing Gluten And Other Food Problems Could Be Life-long Problem With Depression Etc

CuriousOne

CuriousOne Apprentice

Hi I am new here. I have been voraciously reading the posts on these boards the last month... along with stuff on the net.

I wanted to finally post because I'm not sure what is up. I guess I could start from scratch here.

First off, I am of northern european background. Half Scandinavian, half English. Maybe some Irish in there.

When I was a kid I was a super student, top athlete, etc etc. Even the principal told me kids looked up to me.

In 5th grade something happened. I remember around the time I was trying to eat really healthy in order to be better athletically, to get into the olympics (i was extremely ambitious)... I'm 26 now, but back then fat was the devil. So I ate ZERO fat practically, thinking it would be unhealthy. Instead I remember eating lots of carbohydrates...refined energy bars things like that.

I also was taking lots of vitamins for energy. Bee pollen, ginseng, royal jelly...

But something happened to me...and it happened fast. I burned out from everything. Quit all of my sports teams...started ditching classes...stopped talking to all my friends...even my family. I became really messed up and depressed, and it has never been the same since.

In high school tried some meds. Prozac... felt better. Freshman yr in college decided to try to figure myself out from a holistic avenue. First thing I did was eat spaghetti every night, reading stuff about complex carbs were good for you:[