This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Labeled Gluten Free, But Not!

highrentsmile

highrentsmile Rookie

Maybe, it is because I am a newbie, but this is confusing! When I buy a product which states "Gluten Free" I assume it contains no gluten ingredients, and has no possibility of being cross contaiminated with gluten. How wrong was I! They got me! Mi-Del Gluten Free Cookies, this is the statement...

<BR>

"Produced in a facility that also produces milk, peanuts, tree nuts, and wheat. MI-DEL Gluten Free products are routinely tested using the ELISA method to ensure 'gluten free status' as determined by the World Health Organization."

<BR>

Nature's Path Life Stream Gluten Free Frozen Waffles:

"Produced in a non-gluten free facility.

Produced in a facility that uses dairy, sesame & soy."

<BR>

Blue Diamond Nut Thins:

States Gluten Free on Box and Website

Also found on box-

Allergen Disclaimer

Produced in a facility that also also makes products containing: dairy, soy, other tree nuts, and wheat.And they even have an endorsment from the Celiac Foundation!

<BR>

Barabara's Bakery Rice Cereal

States Gluten Free on box.

Also states: "Made with Gluten Free ingredients" on website

A phone call confirmed the cereal is not produced in a gluten free facility.

<BR>