This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Do I Have To Replace All My Pans?

mommytoE&E

mommytoE&E Rookie

I'm new to this.

How do I really clean the gluten off all my dishes, pots, pans, etc...

My muffin pan is a non-stick. Should I get rid of it?

My bread pan is glass (pyrex I think?) Can I clean it and remove all the gluten, or do I need to replace it as well?

How about my measuring cups (stainless steel)

Thank you!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

MaryJones2 Enthusiast

I replaced the wood, plastic, melamine and teflon (non-stick) stuff. I kept the china, copper, porcelain, pyrex, glass and stainless stuff.

Ursa Major Collaborator

Any scratched non-stick bake and cookware should be replaced. If it isn't scratched it should be okay after a good washing or two.

Anything you can scrub properly (like glass and steel) and that doesn't have sharp corners is fine after you give it a good scrubbing so that it shines and looks completely clean. You absolutely cannot get all the gluten out of sharp corners and crevices.

But really scrub it, not just wash it.

You have to replace your toaster (or if there is a gluten eater in your house, you need separate toasters), wooden cooking spoons, wooden cutting board and plastic colander you have drained gluten pasta with (stainless steel colanders are fine after scrubbing thoroughly).

JNBunnie1 Community Regular