This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

2 Year Old Who Stopped Eating All Foods

Jules

Jules Rookie

Hi Everyone,

I'm an occupational therapist working with a family that has a two year old daughter who had a series of chronic ear infections and was hospitalized in March/April. Upon returning home from the hospital her family was concerned as she had no appetite and was not eating. Eventually she was put on a G-tube (stomach tube) and is now fed at night via the tube to receive the proper calories to maintain her weight. She has also been diagnosed with Celiacs and her family has had her on a strict gluten free diet (what little food she does eat).

She will often chew food and spit it out and will sometimes go for days without eating at all. She plays with her food but rarely finds any pleasure with food that she tastes. She often requests a food, tries it and acts disappointed as if her taste may be altered in some way. On several occasions she will eat one or two tiny bites and then want to be excused from the table. We are also seeing some behaviors (tantrums, yelling, hitting) that seem out of character for an otherwise sweet little girl.

So here are my questions: For those of you who have had a toddler that refused to eat (or ate very little), how long did this problem last after going completely gluten free? and

Has anyone heard of a loss of taste or altered sense of taste related to Celiacs? and

Why do these kiddos chew and spit out the food?

I would appreciate any feedback. Thank you.

Jules

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Helena Contributor