This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Mcdonalds

MasterGberry

MasterGberry Newbie

Okay, I would like to be the one to clear things up here. I currently work at McDonalds and live a gluten free life also. So i am a professional at what you can and cannot eat there. In the United States there is gluten in the french fries due to the beef flavoring as previously said. I have been trying to talk to the right person about getting this taken out but so far no luck.

Here are some common items you would think is gluten free but not.

Some of the dressings (READ THE INGREDIENTS)

French Fries

Angus Burgers (If you want this to be gluten free you must obviously not get the bun but also tell them no angus seasoning)

Grilled Chicken (The Chicken for the salads and sandwiches has wheat also in it >_> Go figure. I ate them for 2 months and then found out)

Hash Browns

Nuts in the Fruit and walnut salad (Yogurt and fruit is alright)

Snicker McFlurry

The Pies (DUH)

All the McCafe drinks are gluten free. (I personally love the Hot Chocolate)

Watch out for the cross contamination with the ice cream (My sister bought some gluten free cones, got them to make the ice cream with theres, and had it dipped in the chocolate. BIG NO NO. The Chocolate dip sauce is cross contaminated with the regular cones so there is gluten in it.)

Here is what I will eat there.

Parfaits (No Granola)

They are extremely nice about accommodating me with lettuce wraps. I even do this for the breakfast items =D (Egg McMuffin lettuce wrapped. Tastes better than it sounds) Due to this I can eat any burger there except the chicken, fish, and the angus seasoning.