This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What Vitamins/supplements Should I Get?

Joe0123

Joe0123 Contributor

So what vitamins or supplements do I need to get while being gluten free? I know magnesium cuz of constipation, but what else should I get?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kayo Explorer

Great question. Looking forward to what people have to suggest as I'm new to the vitamin portion of dealing with this lifestyle as well.

I'm currently on 50k units of vitamin D once a week (Rx from GI doc, my D level was super low)

In addition I take a multivitamin and a calcium/vitamin D daily

I take a digestive enzyme, grapefruit seed extract pill and probiotic with dinner

masterjen Explorer

I would suggest you get blood tests done to determine if you are low in any vitamins or minerals (I'm not sure if they can test for all of the main ones or not, but they can test several). I know that some vitamins can cause harm if taken in excess, so you don't want to take what you don't need. If you suffer from weakness, like I have, ask that your potassium levels be checked in addition to the others.

detritus Apprentice

So what vitamins or supplements do I need to get while being gluten free? I know magnesium cuz of constipation, but what else should I get?

I was concerned about the anemia, so instead of coffee every day I drink hot almond milk with a tablespoon of organic blackstrap molasses. It has lots of good vitamins in it, and I actually get a little "happy" high about 20 minutes after drinking it :)