This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Does Anyone Have Bad Reactions To Quinoa?

GlutenFreeManna

GlutenFreeManna Rising Star

Hi, I'm new to gluten-free eating. I've only been doing this since January. Yesterday I had the worst reaction I've had to something for months. The only thing I ate that was unusual was quinoa pasta the night before. I don't eat a lot of processed food, for the most part I eat steamed veggies and meat. My husband is very supportive and he will only eat what I am able to eat while we are at home (he will deviate if we go out to dinner, because I have encouraged him to get whatever he wants). Anyway, I have been able to completely clear my kitchen of gluten this way (or so I thought). I bought new pot and pans, etc to make sure everything was gluten-free. I have had a few minor incidences that happened while eating out, or because I didn't know all the questions to ask my host (I'm still learning). But each time it was pretty easy to figure out what made me sick. So I can't figure out how I got this sick. I spent all day yesterday doubled over in pain and rushing to the toilet every 20 minutes. Today, the pain is still there, but is much less. The ONLY thing I ate out of the norm was Ancient Harvest Quinoa pasta, which is labeled gluten free, with the only ingredients being Organic Corn Flour, and Organic Quinoa Flour. I know that corn is not a problem for me as I often make it as a side dish and I have had corn only pasta (Mrs. Leepers, I think?) once before That was wonderful. So does anyone reaction to quinoa the same as gluten?