This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Feeling Totally Overwhelmed

Kiwikins

Kiwikins Newbie

Well, as the title says, I have found myself completely overwhelmed with this wretched disease. I am currently a sophomore at a huge state university and just found out I would not be getting my illness related absences excused because "I should just avoid eating gluten and then I would be able to go to class no problem." Excuse me while I scream in frustration. You would think that the disability service office of a school with more than 30,000 students would be SLIGHTLY familiar with celiacs, but it seems that is not the case here. I really want to do nothing more than curl up in my bed and cry. Melodramatic? maybe. But I have reached the point where I don't even feel like trying anymore. It doesn't matter what I eat because everything in the dining hall is contaminated, even when they specially prepare the meal for me. I've had the disease for a little under a year and I'm totally losing steam with the diet in general, which is especially dangerous with my first gluten free thanksgiving coming up. I really don't even know what to do anymore, or where to turn, but I definitely recognize that this has gone past the "just pull yourself up" stage. Sorry for all the whining :(

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Skylark Collaborator

This is where you come to whine. No need to apologize. ((( hug )))