This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Tomato Sauces Gluten Free?

S2011V

S2011V Newbie

I'm new to all this and am in the beginning stages of finding out whether I have this or not. Doc appt is scheduled soon.

Is Hunts' Tomato Sauce Gluten Free?? I want pasta really badly but can't find anything to make sure it is!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Skylark Collaborator

First, don't go gluten-free until you have had all your celiac testing done! This is really important! You must be eating a normal amount of gluten for the tests to work. Once you have had bloodwork and possibly had an endoscopy and biopsy, you can go off gluten.

To answer your original question, it's rather rare to find gluten in tomato sauce or spaghetti sauce. Hunt's brand is made by ConAgra. ConAgra has committed to declaring wheat, oats, barley, or rye on the ingredient labels, even if they appear in "natural flavors". If you don't see the words wheat, oat, barley, or rye on the can of tomato sauce it is safe. (Oats don't have gluten naturally but they often have wheat commingled in the field, plus some celiacs are sensitive to them.)

ConAgra, General Mills, Kraft, Unilever, Sara Lee and other major brands have committed to declaring gluten. Here is a page with some well-researched info.

Open Original Shared Link

ravenwoodglass Mentor