This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

The Day After I Graduate Culinary School I Have To Go Gluten Free :(

Applegirl

Applegirl Rookie

I feel so lost now. I spent the last year in culinary school (albeit very sick while there!) Not knowing gluten was the reason I was having so many problems. The day of graduation I got bombarded by flour from everyone as a joke and I think thats what set me off into the ER two days later with breathing probs, sores in my mouth, shakiness etc. Now I feel like I've lost a year of my life and a career I wanted so badly. We don't have any bakeries dedicated to gluten free cooking where I live and being a chef I would have to taste my cooking.. I dunno just wanted to vent I'm really upset over the whole thing I had plans to go to Johnson and Wales and everything.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

saintmaybe Collaborator

I feel so lost now. I spent the last year in culinary school (albeit very sick while there!) Not knowing gluten was the reason I was having so many problems. The day of graduation I got bombarded by flour from everyone as a joke and I think thats what set me off into the ER two days later with breathing probs, sores in my mouth, shakiness etc. Now I feel like I've lost a year of my life and a career I wanted so badly. We don't have any bakeries dedicated to gluten free cooking where I live and being a chef I would have to taste my cooking.. I dunno just wanted to vent I'm really upset over the whole thing I had plans to go to Johnson and Wales and everything.