This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How Long After Eating Gluten Do Symptoms Appear?

Mrs. M.

Mrs. M. Apprentice

Hi-

I am relatively new to the world of celiac disease (diagnosed 2 months ago and following gluten-free diet since then). Yesterday I had significant stomach cramping starting in the early afternoon and I am trying to figure out what I ate that caused the problem. I think all of my food yesterday was safe, so I am wondering whether this could have been a reaction to something I ate the night before (restaurant food that I'm not sure about). How long after eating a gluten-containing food does it take before you feel symptoms? Can it be immediate? Or can it take as long as 12 hours? Thanks for feedback!

And, the food I'm questioning is El Torito veggie fajitas. Does anyone happen to know whether these contain gluten?

thanks!!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

jessimarie3 Rookie

Hi-

I am relatively new to the world of celiac disease (diagnosed 2 months ago and following gluten-free diet since then). Yesterday I had significant stomach cramping starting in the early afternoon and I am trying to figure out what I ate that caused the problem. I think all of my food yesterday was safe, so I am wondering whether this could have been a reaction to something I ate the night before (restaurant food that I'm not sure about). How long after eating a gluten-containing food does it take before you feel symptoms? Can it be immediate? Or can it take as long as 12 hours? Thanks for feedback!