This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cross Contamination Questions

amy31

amy31 Rookie

No one needs to answer all my questions, and I don't mind getting a variety of different opinions either. I know some people experience symptoms more easily than others from very small amounts of contamination.

A bit about me: I am new at gluten free living, although I've read quite a bit. I am a frugal shopper, like to buy the store brands or in bulk, and do not like expensive products if not necessary :). (I do buy gluten-free oats.) So I'm trying to learn what are reasonable precautions, but I don't feel like I need everything that I eat to be certified gluten free. After all, I live in a wheat-eating household, so I don't expect to never meet with a tiny bit of contamination from time to time.

1. Which of the following products would you not feel safe in buying unless they were labeled gluten-free: Millet, buckwheat, popcorn (unpopped), millet flour, rice flour, cornmeal, buckwheat flour, soy flour?

2. Do you feel it necessary to contact the manufacturer for every food product you buy if not labeled gluten-free (obviously with no gluten in the ingredients)? How about for things like: canned tomatoes, spaghetti sauce, canned beans, salsa, dried fruit, nuts, and ketchup? How about corn chips?

3. Do you feel that items with allergy warnings (may contain traces of wheat) are too risky? How about "Processed in a facility that also processes wheat"? Do you make any difference between those two?