This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Am I Reacting To Rice?

dinosinclair

dinosinclair Newbie

hello everyone:

I'm a newbie. I had the test with a camera down my throat which confirmed I'm highly sensitive to wheat. Eleven months diagnosed with celiac diseas and still coping with trying to figure out the puzzle and get my digestive system "normal." I feel very similar to chamomilelovers post.

Just when I think I have things under control; something hits me. -up at 3 a.m with "d" not constipation, stomach pain, headache, insomnia, and looking through my notes.

I have been living on "gluten free" rice Chex -coconut milk- boiled rice, meat, vegetables,fruit. Then; just as my digestion turns normal, I get hit with a new mystery of what I ate that caused a relapse.

Then I had another allergen test from my blood which tested for a reaction to the days food in different categories. Category 3 being most dangerous--(and a no no) wheat, and rye -which i already knew- but also egg yoke, egg whites, soybean came in at this level 3- casein, rice, and barley came in at class 2--and oat and corn class1. The nutritionist advised me that this information was all in regard to "one day"and to continue eating normally but slowly eliminating each one (other than wheat or Rye) to see how I felt.

After much pain and experimentation -- I looked at the chart and thought "wait a minute-- rice and barley are both category 2 and I would never eat barley; why is it ok to eat rice!