This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How Do You Decide?

1desperateladysaved

1desperateladysaved Proficient

Some foods have controversy about whether a celiac can have them or not. Not many of us have their own labs. I surely don't want to test a food that will do harm. Even experts have conflicting views.

My current thought is this. I am just beginning the healing process at 5 months grain free and 7 months gluten free. I feel I need to be absolutely stringent now. I do not eat many natural foods that bother others. Those I hear of that others have problems with I might eat especially if it is a food that I have not overconsumed. I hope to one day be able to put some things back in. At that point symptom hopefully will be undeniably clear when something amiss is put in. I feel it is alot easier and safer to be really restrictive in the beginning when you can not tell what is going on.

How are others making decisions like this?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Jestgar Rising Star

...You eat anything you want, unless youhave a problem with it, then you stop eating it.

You can't base your food choices on someone else's reactions - we're all too different.

GottaSki Mentor

What other foods are you eliminating? Did you remove all grains because they were obviously causing problems for you?

If it is a food that you know is causing you problems, remove it for six months then re-introduce it - wait at least three days to see if you have any reaction to it - if no reaction add it back into your diet. If you have a reaction, remove it and re-trial it at six month intervals.