This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Sick And Suspicious

MartyrMom2

MartyrMom2 Rookie

Hey everyone! I am glad to have stumbled onto this site! I really appreciate the wealth of information and the sense of community here. I am a newbie and have posted under a few different topics already. I hope to not repeat myself, but I wanted to share my personal history to see if any of you think my symptoms/diagnoses (please see my signature or other posts) warrant testing for Celiac Disease or not. I am a 34-year-old female, but my health started to deteriorate 7 years ago. In late Sept.'05, I developed what I thought at the time was a stomach virus. I had pretty intense abdominal pain that radiated to my back and diarrhea. I purchased some Imodium and went about my day. My symptoms lasted throughout the day, only to stop the next, and then return again. My symptoms continued so I consulted a gastroenterologist. In Jan. '06, I had an endoscopy and colonoscopy. I was diagnosed with IBS. I left the office with a pamphlet and a RX for Hyoscyamine. My abdominal pain and diarrhea continued for the next seven years (until present day). I finally discontinued the Hyoscyamine in Aug. '07 due to its ineffectiveness. I might as well have taken a placebo. I was diagnosed w/ hypothyroidism in Oct. '08 and put on Synthroid. While I am thankful to have had an astute physician recommend testing my thyroid (I know some women aren't as lucky), I am frustrated that I do not know the cause of my thyroid disease or my IBS. I am curious to know if it is Hashimoto's or not and furthermore whether gluten is the culprit. I have developed additional symp