This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Some Pre-Diagnosis Questions

kylemachiavelli

kylemachiavelli Newbie

After living with bloating, upset-stomach, gas, and a bunch of other symptoms for probably a few years now I came across celiac disease and this site about two weeks ago. I never really thought of my symptoms as anything that could be wrong with me. I am a college student and as this semester started coming to an end I found myself really stressed out with finals and other assignments. My symptoms got A LOT worse and I realized that they have always gotten worse at certain times of the year when I find myself stressed (before i go back to school, beginning and ends of the semester, act). So I did a bunch of research online and figured I might have celiac.

After basically not going to any of my classes during the last week of school I came home and went to the doctor right away. My doctor thinks its either IBS or celiac. He ordered 4 different blood tests, gave me a prescription for ibs meds and also told me to try not eating gluten for at least a month. I am still waiting for the results from the blood test to come back but have recently learned that the blood tests aren't always reliable. Since I'm pretty sure that what I have been experiencing are symptoms of celiac disease I had a few questions.

If my blood test comes back as negative, what should be my next plan of action?

Would I be able to get a biopsy even if my blood test comes back as negative?

Any advice or insight is welcomed!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

shadowicewolf Proficient