Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation on 07/05/2018 in all areas

  1. 1 point
    Show her this info from actual doctors that are experts in Celiac before you take a blood test. I don't want the doc to say you don't have Celaic because of an invalid blood test. https://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ Find out for sure Antibody tests are accurate only when a patient is on a gluten-containing diet. Those concerned about celiac disease are strongly discouraged from starting a gluten-free diet without having had a firm diagnosis. Any change in the diet, even as briefly as a month or two, can complicate the diagnostic process. https://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/what-is-a-gluten-challenge/ A gluten challenge is the period of time when gluten is added back into a person’s diet to assist in the diagnosis of celiac disease. Antibodies take time to build into the blood stream before they can be detected through blood analysis. For a gluten challenge we recommend eating 1/2 slice of bread or a cracker each day for the duration of the challenge. Prior to blood testing we recommend 12 weeks of eating gluten. Prior to an endoscopic biopsy we recommend 2 weeks of eating gluten. In the case of a severe reaction to gluten, a medical professional may opt to shorten the 12-week challenge and move immediately to an endoscopic biopsy. May, 2013
  2. 1 point
    Right, If you have DH, you have celiac disease. Only people with celiac disease get DH. The DH rash is the result of IgA antibodies to gluten being deposited in the skin. They test for DH by taking a small biopsy sample of skin next to a DH lesion, not on it. They check it for the IgA antibodies. DH is often described as being very itchy. It also tends to appear in a symetrical pattern on both sides of the body.
  3. 1 point
    Unfortunately for now the only way to diagnose celiac is to essentially poison yourself with gluten so the antibodies to it show up in your body, with most in the blood after building up in your intestines from consuming it for 8-12 weeks straight. And or 2 weeks so they can see the damage to the intestines with a endoscope and biopsy. Those with DH have the antibodies in the skins and normally have issues with other test then the skin biopsy. I will give you some links on the testing so you can see yourself, some go and do a gluten binge for the "gluten challenge" eating all the junk they will never be able to eat again, some find it so painful they just eat a slice of bread a day at night or a tsp of vital wheat gluten a night and try to sleep it off. BUT if you had DH this is a sign of celiac and if your doctor that saw it puts that in your file then your good on diagnosis. https://celiac.org/celiac-disease/understanding-celiac-disease-2/diagnosing-celiac-disease/screening/ https://celiac.org/celiac-disease/understanding-celiac-disease-2/dermatitis-herpetiformis/
  4. 1 point
    Okay, I would like to be the one to clear things up here. I currently work at McDonalds and live a gluten free life also. So i am a professional at what you can and cannot eat there. In the United States there is gluten in the french fries due to the beef flavoring as previously said. I have been trying to talk to the right person about getting this taken out but so far no luck. Here are some common items you would think is gluten free but not. Some of the dressings (READ THE INGREDIENTS) French Fries Angus Burgers (If you want this to be gluten free you must obviously not get the bun but also tell them no angus seasoning) Grilled Chicken (The Chicken for the salads and sandwiches has wheat also in it >_> Go figure. I ate them for 2 months and then found out) Hash Browns Nuts in the Fruit and walnut salad (Yogurt and fruit is alright) Snicker McFlurry The Pies (DUH) All the McCafe drinks are gluten free. (I personally love the Hot Chocolate) Watch out for the cross contamination with the ice cream (My sister bought some gluten free cones, got them to make the ice cream with theres, and had it dipped in the chocolate. BIG NO NO. The Chocolate dip sauce is cross contaminated with the regular cones so there is gluten in it.) Here is what I will eat there. Parfaits (No Granola) They are extremely nice about accommodating me with lettuce wraps. I even do this for the breakfast items =D (Egg McMuffin lettuce wrapped. Tastes better than it sounds) Due to this I can eat any burger there except the chicken, fish, and the angus seasoning. Salads with no chicken and specific dressings Breakfast items are mostly gluten free besides the bread of course. That's all I can think about right now. Let me know if this helps and if there are anymore questions.
  5. 1 point
    AFAIK Wendy's "burgers" are gluten free (I put "burgers" in quotes because anything thinner than your average piece of paper is pretty questionable in my book ) BUT -- their fries are listed as gluten-free. They are fried in a "dedicated fryer". HOWEVER their fries do not remain gluten-free. In every Wendy's I've ever been in, the chicken fryer is to left side and the FF fryer to the right; and the rack where they dump the food out is to the right of that. So they pull the fry baskets out of the chicken, cross over the FF fryer, and to the place where the chicken is removed from the basket. Cross contamination. Wendy's was wholly unconcerned when I called to complain and refused to post a warning.
  6. 1 point
    Exactly. Now the regular burger patties are contaminated. This has been a hot topic in my local support group. Many families get bun-free burger happy meals for their kids. Not anymore.
  7. 1 point
    Like we'd want to eat beef patties cooked on a grill where the "angus wheat" seasoning was flying around cross contaminating everything. McDonalds: now entering the category of even more non celiac/gluten-free friendly.
  8. 1 point
    Well I have been working for 11 months in SoCal and the Angus has been around for a while here, now its nationwide. The Seasoning is exclusively for the Angus Burgers. You cannot eat it. Just tell the cashier that you do not want any angus seasoning on the burger. It is the last piece added to the sandwich. All the other burger patties are gluten free.
  9. 1 point
    Oh no. The fries debate again....... Brace yourselves...... The burger patties used to be gluten free. Now that they have the Angus burger, the other burger patties are no longer gluten free. There is wheat in the seasoning they use on the Angus burger so there is very high risk of CC. From what I have heard, the Angus is here to stay. It's not a temporary, trial thing. It's too bad.
×
×
  • Create New...