Advanced Members
  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About elocin71

  • Rank
    Community Member
  1. In searching the forum, I found a lot of posts about muscle hypotonia before following a gluten-free diet but nothing about it for people following a gluten-free diet. While we don't have what sounds like muscle hypotonia exactly, my daughter and I both have "lazy" facial muscles, according to our speech therapist. We also both suffer from sleep apnea so we have some apparent muscle weakness in our throats as well. I'm wondering if we are lacking some enzyme that's needed for muscle building, as we are both on the petite side. FWIW, I am on the autoimmune paleo diet (3+ years) while my daughter can eat anything gluten-free (I'm so jealous!). ND is on top of our labs and supplements. Does anyone have experience with something similar? TIA
  2. when i was looking for a gluten-free protein shake for my daughters, my naturopath had two to offer me: one rice-based and one bean-based. she said she had to switch to the bean-based because when she would drink the rice one, should would get so sleepy that she would almost fall asleep in her chair while she was with patients. i don't think she explained to me the reason for it, only that she couldn't tolerate it. so maybe it's not a contamination issue? i wonder if it's a blood-sugar issue as white rice is a 89/100.
  3. i didn't even think to google it. that is a great idea! i think i'll surprise her with them since she thinks she's not getting any. thanks so much!
  4. so i'm on the hunt for a gluten-free valentine conversation heart candy. i had thought that NECCO was the safe one but right on they had the shared-facility warning on their packages this year. was it there last year too? i am only getting more nit-picky as time goes by. i seem to be one of the sensitive folks. i thought wonka sweetarts were not safe but then i see a post online about them being safe (http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/GlutenFreeSnacks/a/Gluten-Free-Valentines-Candy.htm). the wonka website is useless in finding detailed information. i will have to call but i need to see what i can find in the stores. are there any others out there? i haven't found much on google either. might be that my kiddo just has to go without those this year. TIA
  5. depending on your sensitivity level, it could indeed by the larabar. from their website, i get the impression that they are produced in a facility with gluten-containing ingredients: "GLUTEN FREE/CELIACS LÄRABAR®, über® and Jŏcalat® are Gluten Free. They have no gluten-containing ingredients, and we have manufacturing controls in place to ensure that there are no cross-contact concerns. We also periodically verify our practices using Gliadin gluten testing." http://www.larabar.com/about/special-diets
  6. elocin71

    Favorite Protein/power Bar?

    i'm not here to be a party-pooper, i just want to save some time for us sensitive folks.
  7. elocin71

    Favorite Protein/power Bar?

    here is the info from the simply bar website: http://www.thesimplybar.com/faq Is The Simply Bar certified gluten-free? Yes. The Simply Bar is certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) and is manufactured in a gluten-free environment to prevent cross-contamination. We follow strict manufacturing practices and screen all our products using R5-Elisa. At ‹5ppm of gluten, our delicious protein packed bars are both safe for our celiac consumers, as well as an excellent snack option. View our gluten free certification. [*]Is The Simply Bar facility Gluten-Free? Yes. The Simply Bar facility is maintained within a gluten-free environment. It should be noted that our facility also manufactures oats. Oats are naturally gluten-free. However, there is some concern whether the oats are grown in a field that at some point grew other gluten containing grains. Rest assured, our oats are tested for gluten before and after each usage. View our gluten free certification
  8. elocin71

    Favorite Protein/power Bar?

    for Quest, i talked to an online customer service agent. i asked them if their bars were processed in a gluten-free facility and they said "our bars are gluten-free". when i reiterated my question, they said "we do not use gluten-containing ingredients in our bars". so Quest is ok i guess?
  9. elocin71

    Favorite Protein/power Bar?

    a warning for the sensitive, the You bars are made in a facility with gluten: http://www.youbars.com/faqs I have allergies; can you guarantee that what I order will not contain certain ingredients? You may select the ingredients in your bar, however, your bar may contain traces of soy, wheat, eggs, milk, tree nuts & peanuts because our kitchen also processes items with those ingredients.
  10. elocin71

    Favorite Protein/power Bar?

    Kind bars look good although i was a little confused by their answer from their FAQ: 5. Are KIND Healthy Snacks gluten-free? Our products are tested for gluten and meet FDA’s proposed requirement of 20ppm (0.002%) of gluten. Our manufacturing plant is dedicated gluten free and has a strict allergen control program. if your plant is dedicated gluten-free, would you even need to test? maybe they're just being very thorough.
  11. elocin71

    Favorite Protein/power Bar?

    beware: depending on your sensitivity, these bars probably contain gluten at some level http://www.nugonutrition.com/about/faq/ How does NuGo ensure our products are Gluten-Free? The current proposed FDA standard for labeling a product gluten-free is testing to ensure it contains less than 20ppm of gluten. At NuGo, all bars that say gluten-free on the label have been batch tested to below 10ppm, a stronger standard than the FDA recommends. We manage allergens strictly during manufacturing, and all shared equipment is heat treated and cleaned before use with our gluten-free products in order for us to maintain the highest standard to ensure the products test below 10ppm.
  12. according to this, they will disclose if they put it in the ingredient directly but, if it is processed in a facility with gluten, the front will simply not say 'gluten-free'. if you are worried about cross-contamination, only buy the boxes that specifically say gluten-free on the front. http://www.gfreegirlfriend.com/2012/02/nature-valley-bars.html "Thank you for contacting us about gluten in Nature Valley granola bars. General Mills offers several products that are labeled gluten-free. Please check the package label for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package. Only products that can be verified to be gluten free will be declared as gluten free on the label. It is important to check the product label each time you purchase a product because it has the most accurate information about the product in the package. Because we constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated. A current list of products on the market that are gluten free can be found by visiting www.glutenfreely.com. It is important to check the package label before purchasing for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package to verify that the package you choose is gluten free. For products not labeled gluten free, we will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ′Natural Flavors′ or ′Spices′ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed. If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires. Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or one of these organizations."
  13. i was surprised that their response was so thorough because of old posts that came up on here about their fudge bars. happily surprised
  14. Thank you for your email concerning our Healthy Choice Fudge Bars. We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to obtain accurate information about our food to help plan their meals and diets. And we continue to look for ways to meet the dietary needs of our consumers. Since wheat is a major food allergen, if it is used in the product it would be listed in the contains statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities. If any ingredient in the product includes rye or barley, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. Oats do not contain gluten, but they frequently have been exposed to wheat or barley and are not recommended for celiac patients. If Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors, or Spices listed in the ingredients list contain wheat, rye or barley, these ingredients would be listed in parenthesis immediately following the ingredient. Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. Most of the vinegar in our products is distilled and through the distilling process protein gluten is removed. If modified food starch is contained in a product, the source will be called out on the label. If a product just says 'modified food starch' it will be corn unless otherwise noted. Starting January of 2012, we began producing the following brands validated as gluten-free with gluten-free printed on their labels: -Cocoa: Swiss Miss all varieties -Egg Beaters: all varieties -Tomatoes: Hunt's all varieties (excluding Pasta Sauces, Tomato Sauces and Ketchups) -Orville Redenbacher's: all Ready to Eat varieties Below is a list of some of our other products that do not contain added gluten* Category/Brand/Items -PAM Cooking Spray: all varieties except PAM Baking -Hebrew National: all items except Franks in a Blanket -Wesson oils: all varieties -Peter Pan Peanut Butter: all varieties -Popcorn: Act II microwave, Orville Redenbacher jar and microwave, excluding Crunch n Munch and Poppycock -Pudding: Swiss Miss & Snack Pack, excludes those containing Tapioca -Spreads: Parkay, Blue Bonnet, Fleischmann's and Move Over Butter -David Seeds: all varieties -Tomato Sauces: Hunt's tomato paste and sauces excluding pasta sauces -Ketchup: Hunt's all varieties -Reddi-Wip: all varieties -Ro*Tel Tomatoes (excluding sauces) *These items have been identified as not containing gluten. They are not currently routinely tested to affirm they contain less than 20ppm gluten for a 'gluten-free' claim. We always advise consumers who may have sensitivities to recheck the ingredient list on each package. Products are oftentimes reformulated and the ingredients may change. If you have additional questions about your personal dietary needs, please consult your doctor or a registered dietitian.
  15. elocin71

    gluten-free Rice Milk?

    This is explained in the book "The Devil in the Milk". Basically there are two kinds of milks produced by animals. The majority of cows we get milk from are the A1 type. (There are some A2's around but we don't discriminate in the US.) "What is A1 and A2 milk? Milk contains many types of proteins. The proportion of various proteins can be quite different in the milk from different breeds of cows and in the milk from other animals. Of the six major protein types in cow's milk, four are casein proteins and the other two are whey proteins. The caseins usually make up about 80% of the protein in cow's milk. One of the major caseins is beta -casein. There are different beta casein types, but the most common are beta casein A1 (milk high in this type is known as A1 milk) and beta casein A2 (milk high in this type is known as A2 milk). Certain breeds of cows, such as Friesians, produce mostly A1 milk, whereas other breeds, such as Guernseys, as well as sheep and goats, produce mostly A2 milk. Milk produced in Australia and New Zealand is normally a mix of A1 and A2 milks." http://www.foodstandards.gov.au/scienceandeducation/factsheets/factsheets2007/a1anda2milk14septemb3706.cfm The book explains why exactly people can drink A2 milk without having the same reactions. Unfortunately I don't currently have the brain capacity to hold on to more than the general idea, but if you're curious, get the book from your library. it's chocked full of research and studies.