Jump to content
  • Sign Up


Advanced Members
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About Emport

  • Rank

Profile Information

  • Gender
  1. Hi Paul, I don't know about Brno, but there is a restaurant in Prague that is not only entirely gluten-free but also carries a lot of Schar products - http://www.nazlatekrizovatce.cz/en/. It might be worth a trip if it's tough to find products closer to you. Happy eating! Emily
  2. As KarenG said, just eating Quaker Oats might/might not be enough to get an accurate idea of whether or not you have celiac disease (cross-contamination can vary box-to-box and bowl-to-bowl, and it's also true that while some strains of oat do contain gluten / are toxic to people with celiac disease, they have a lower toxicity than wheat). The other thing to consider is that gluten sensitivity won't show up on a blood test but can still make you feel pretty awful if you're eating gluten. In terms of reducing the financial burden of a gluten-free diet, perhaps there is an alternative to certified gluten-free oatmeal that might fit the bill? I'm afraid I can't recommend a brand (for taste or price point) because I'm not a big hot cereal fan, but I know that people often have quinoa, buckwheat, or millet cooked up as a hot cereal, and that there are also corn and rice options out there. If you do want to go ahead and reintroduce gluten, here's a fairly recent update on gluten challenges from the NFCA: Gluten Challenge
  3. Just wanted to share a study that came out last year -- one of the reasons why oats are so confusing is that not all varieties of oat are the same. The study (published in Gut and also reviewed here on Celiac.com) took a look at an assortment of different strains of oat. All the oats were clean/non-contaminated, but only some of them tested as gluten-free. The study used two different types of test: an ELISA test with the G12 antibody a Western Blot, where T-cells from patients with celiac disease were exposed to the oats The strains that tested positive with the ELISA also caused the cells from celiac patients to have a reaction -- pretty clear evidence that there is not a yes/no answer when it comes to the safety of oats.
  4. Just a short note to add that there are some differences between the different certification programs. Joy at the Liberated Kitchen just posted a really thorough review of the different regulations and the different certifying bodies here in the US, along with the critical contamination points that certified manufacturers need to look out for" http://theliberatedkitchenpdx.com/celiac/gluten-free-certification/ Labels are definitely confusing -- it's worth a read!
  5. Hi Sunny, These symptoms can definitely be related to gluten! For a partial list of symptoms, you could visit the National Foundation for Celiac Disease's website, they keep a partial list. Different people react in different amounts of time. Some know within minutes of eating gluten, some hours, some never at all (but are still being chronically affected in ways ranging from infertility to fatigue to increased risk of certain cancers). And in fact one of the most common things that happens when people go gluten-free is that they find symptoms clearing up, that they didn't even realize were symptoms at all. A couple of things to note: a) be careful with oats! They are rarely safe unless they are certified gluten-free because they can get very contaminated in processing (and recent studies show that some strains of oat actually have gluten in them) your body will take some time to heal completely, more than a few days! c) if you can, it might be wise to visit a doctor you trust or a local celiac support center, and have them run tests for celiac disease. You'll need to be eating gluten consistently in your diet for the tests to be accurate
  6. Glad I could help! The man at the Gelateria was really helpful and pointed out which of the flavors were/were not safe -- all you'll have to do is say the word celiac and he'll take care of the rest.
  7. There was an article published in Gut last month that sheds some extra light onto the oats question -- as it turns out, different strains of oat have different levels of gluten in them. The full article is here: http://gut.bmj.com/content/early/2011/02/11/gut.2010.225268.full. And a quick note on corned beef: be careful! Lots of corned beef comes with a packet of pickling spices, and you'll want to check the label there. Also, many recipes call for some beer to be included in the pot while the meat cooks.
  8. Agreed, Spain is great! And Seville has a special place in my gluten-free heart. There's a pharmacy in Seville, in a neighborhood called Triana, that's dedicated to celiacs and has a huge neon sign outside with the word "Celiacos" on it. They stock a bunch of gluten-free foods, but they also have a big mail order list and can send away for other things that they don't have in stock. Don't remember the address but if you ask around I'm sure someone will know; it was near the river. The main supermarket chain, Mercadona, tests all of their store-brand food and if it's gluten-free it'll have a label on it -- so you won't have to worry about hidden bulking agents there. I also had one of the best gluten-free meals of my life in Seville at a restaurant called <a href="http://maps.google.com/maps/place?cid=7516380798329405255&q=soravito+sevilla&gl=us"> Soravito </a>. The owner is gluten-free and so they're extremely knowledgeable about what is/isn't safe.
  9. This is definitely one more reason why Canada is awesome... But it's worth pointing out that beer still won't be labeled as containing gluten -- the industry was able to get an exception. You can read more about it here, I mention it just in case anyone gets lulled into a false sense of security because of all the other foods/drinks that are getting proper labels.
  10. I was in Rome and Venice in the fall and while there were plenty of tempting breads and pastas, both cities are actually really excellent places to be gluten-free (Italy overall has a fantastic awareness of celiac disease). The Italian Celiac Association (AIC)has a list of gluten-free restaurants (http://www.celiachia.it/dieta/Dieta.aspx?SS=95). Unfortunately it's not in English, but if you click on a restaurant type on the left menu and scroll down, you can select a region/city and it will pull up a list of options. They definitely won't be the only options -- now that you're looking for them, you'll see the words "celiaca" and "glutine" everywhere. Wish I took better notes on my trip, but in Rome you can get delicious gelato in a gluten-free cone at Gelateria del Teatro (http://www.foodinrome.com/gelateria-del-teatro/) and there's a salumeria on the Campo de Fiori that can point out which of its meats are gluten-free if you ask. There's a place called Trattoria Mama Angela on Via Palestro, and while it's definitely nothing to write home about it does have the advantage of being near Termini and offers several of its standard items with gluten-free pasta. I'm not sure if you speak Italian, but if you don't these phrases will definitely be helpful (along with how to pronounce them, roughly): * I am a celiac: Sono celiaca. So-no chee-lee-ah-ka. If you
  • Create New...