Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


MJ_S

Advanced Members
  • Content Count

    182
  • Joined

  • Last visited

4 Followers

About MJ_S

  • Rank
    Star Contributor

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Female
  1. This study looks at wine that is fined with wheat: http://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/jf104490z?journalCode=jafcau, so the concept does exist. I agree that wheat is not a common fining agent, and not something for most celiacs to worry about. This Wine Spectator article states this. It also...
  2. Here's an interesting one my husband came across in a Southwest travel magazine: http://www.freywine.com/ This is the quote from their website: Frey Organic Wines are Vegan and Gluten Free: No Animal or Gluten-Based Fining Agents Used What are Fining Agents? Since ancient times,...
  3. Beth, OP posted her question to the super sensitive forum. Not the newbie forum. None of this applies to newbies. That's why there's a sticky at the top of this forum with a big giant DISCLAIMER. I NEVER would have posted my reply outside of this forum. I thought I was clear with that in my original...
  4. Yes, and Jane Anderson explains very well why there is a lack of formal research on this (I included the relevant paragraphs below). I'm also not convinced that the entire gluten protein is inside the egg, rather some broken-down metabolite that some of our bodies are reacting to. Which may be especially...
  5. I think the obvious answer is that there is far less gluten in oats that may be cc'd as compared to actual wheat. Whatever is in the egg, whether it be at a very low ppm's of gluten threshold or a broken down metabolite that's causing the issue, is not enough to affect me. I'd love for science...
  6. Actually, no. That's why I mentioned it. The amount of gluten those oats may contain, then processed by the chicken, is not enough quantity to cause an issue for me. I will add that it pains me whenever I read on this board that someone thinks they are egg intolerant. Eggs are such a valuable...
  7. You haven't been gluten-free that long and so you shouldn't jump to the conclusion that you're sensitive to gluten in eggs. The vast majority of celiacs, even the more sensitive ones, are fine with all eggs. You should try introducing them and just watch closely for any reaction. However, you started...
  8. This is depressing (and I don't even need to get glutened to get depressed by this). I worry that by the time consumers get concerned enough, assuming it ever happens, it will be too late.
  9. Wow. This thread is fascinating. While someone "officially" diagnosed with celiac might be able to get a gluten-free diet while in prison, what about NCGS patients? I wonder if someone like myself, who never was officially diagnosed, would be able to get the diet, even though my doctor treats me...
  10. Hey thanks. I love visiting Montreal - hope you had a good time!

  11. Hi there. I saw that you visited me and I thought I'd check you out. I hope you are doing well. I just came back from a visit to Montreal where I only spoke a tiny bit of French.

  12. Here's a video showing how flour paste is used during the making of oak barrels. Judge for yourself how comfortable you are with this (considering most of us have thrown out our wood cutting boards and spoons). Gluten makes its appearance at 6:34: vimeo Also, here's a report measuring gluten...
  13. Just be aware that Redbridge is brewed in the same plants as regular beer, so cc could be a factor. Also, it contains corn syrup. IMO, there's no place for corn syrup in beer.
  14. Drink Green's, if you can find it. IMO, the best gluten-free beer out there. St Peters and Bards are good as well. My husband drinks Daura because he genuinely likes it and so we don't have to worry about cc. But I've always wussed out - afraid to try it.