Advanced Members
  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About daisymae106

  • Rank
    Community Member

Profile Information

  • Gender

Recent Profile Visitors

3,585 profile views
  1. Hi Everybody!! Well, the holidays are here and I just made a HUGE mistake! I ate a Lindt Lindor Dark Chocolate truffle ASSUMING that it was ok. I have celiac disease and have been gluten free for 3 years now and I should have known better! I am so mad at myself! Anyway, this is the first time that I can remember that I know I definitely ingested gluten since going gluten free. I'm sure I have had gluten unknowingly or have been cross contaminated because I have had reactions over the last three years, but nothing that I could 100% pinpoint. Anyway, I am not sure what my reaction will be, but I just wanted all of you to know that after researching this just now, most Lindt Chocolate DOES contain barely malt. I think the white chocolate truffles appear to be safe according to the ingredient list although it does list artificial flavors and I am not sure about that. I also have read that Lindt does not maintain that ANY of their products are gluten free. Thanks for listening!! Maybe barley malt does not illicit as strong a reaction as other sources of gluten?? I hope all of you stay clear of gluten in all of the Christmas goodies being passed around out there! Have a safe and blessed holiday season!
  2. Hey Everyone! My daughter brought home something that looked simply WONDERFUL! Does anyone know if it is gluten free? It is Jif Whips Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Pie Spice. I have been trying to research it online and have come up short. I have seen conflicting reports on Jif's gluten-free status. Anyway, thanks for your help!!
  3. Thank you both so much for your replies! It is so encouraging to hear from others who are dealing with the same thing! Thank you again!!
  4. Hey Everyone! Wow, I haven't posted on here in a while, but I am always searching topics to see what all you smart people are saying! I had my check up with my GI doc yesterday, this marks 3 years post celiac disease diagnosis in 2011. I'm doing great, feeling better than ever before, although coping with new issues, i.e. thyroid nodules resulting in low thyroid, low iron, etc. Anyway, I have noticed just in the past few months that my blood work has come back with low protein levels. I'm trying to figure out if this is just a casual, non issue and I just need to eat more protein, or if this points to a malabsorption problem, more specifically, malabsorption syndrome? I've never heard of this before, I have always known that celiacs aren't able to absorb nutrients, but I have never heard of "malabsorption syndrome." Doesn't a celiac's ability to absorb nutrients get better once you go on the gluten-free diet? My other bloodwork all came back great, and shows great results (low celiac antibodies) from being on the gluten-free diet. Just curious if any of you have ever had low protein levels in your blood? I'm not sure if this is just a diet issue, or if I am eating enough protein but it is not being absorbed? Any thoughts appreciated.... God Bless!
  5. Hello friends! I haven't posted in a while as I was diagnosed with celiac disease a year ago and have felt so much better for the past few months without any major issues! Celiac.com has been my biggest help and source of info on my journey of celiac disease. Recently I have been having stomach pain again and I am trying to figure out what it's from. One thought is that it's new food intolerances that I am sensitive to such as corn, dairy, and soy. I am currently trying out the Virgin Diet to help settle my system down (obviously I am already gluten free). The other thought is that I might have had cross contamination from the Visalus shake mix I have recently tried. The shake claims to be Gluten Free but also has a disclaimer because it is processed on the same lines as products containing wheat! So frustrating!! The hardest thing about celiac disease for me (aside from giving up gluten) is the hidden gluten you inevitably get from unknown sources! I just wondered if anyone else has gone through this or might have encouragement!
  6. daisymae106

    Corn Free, Gluten Free & Soy Free

    Thank you so much everybody!! This forum is invaluable!!! Happy March 1! LOL!!
  7. daisymae106

    Corn Free, Gluten Free & Soy Free

    I can't thank you all enough for your insight and input on my post!!!! I appreciate it so much. I will definitely let my friend know!!! Thanks again and God bless all of you!
  8. Hello Everybody!! I am a celiac patient and have been gluten free for about 8 months!! Still encountering some bumps along the way, but overall I am feeling SO MUCH BETTER!!!! My question in this topic is for a dear friend of mine who just found out today that she is allergic to almost EVERYTHING, wheat, barley, rye, CORN, and SOY. I can help her with the Gluten Free issues, but not the corn and soy! It seems like there would be nothing left for her to eat! Could anyone direct me to some kind of general food list for people who have to avoid corn, soy, AND gluten? She is scheduled to also have a blood test for celiac which I am expecting to be positive. Her aunt had celiac disease before she died of cancer. I don't know if the cancer was related to her being celiac, but I do know she had gotten off the gluten-free diet for a few years before she got cancer. Anyway, I have heard that many celiac patients find out later on in their journey that they have other food intolerances. I am thinking of going to an allergist myself to see if there is anything else I need to avoid besides gluten. If anyone has any input or advice in how I can help my friend I would greatly appreciate it. Happy Valentine's Day!!
  9. daisymae, you left a message on my profile complaining about the almond nut thins. I don't believe there used to be such statement on the boxes...I'm sure the post was from a long time ago. This incident just reinforces the need to be diligent about ALWAYS reading ingredient lists before buying and consuming products. I would recommend to contact the company as well to register your com...

  10. That is nuts! LOL I know for a fact that Land O Lakes is safe (at least that's what I read).
  11. Thanks Peter, this is what concerned me. Other butters I have purchased have been all natural, just pure butter. Anyway, thanks for your input!
  12. Thanks for the fast reply!!!! I so appreciate your input. I think the natural flavoring thing always throws me off!!!! Ugh!! Thanks again. I feel better especially after I just bought a huge pack of it. haha! Merry Christmas!
  13. Hey Everyone!! I have seen a few people post lists of what they have found gluten free at Costco. Their unsalted butter is such a great deal, but it says on the ingredient list "natural flavorings". It only lists milk as an allergen, but it said that people with food allergies should look closely at the ingredient label. Anyway, I know most butters are ok, but I have read where some are definitely not ok. Does anyone know about this brand? Thanks for your help. I have been feeling so much better now on my 5th month of GLUTEN FREE FOR LIFE (diagnosed with Celiac in late July 2011).
  14. THANKS SO MUCH! I know for certain that Comstock is gluten free. That at least gives peace of mind to know 100%. But I am glad to know your relationship with the Lucky Leaf people. That makes me feel better!
  15. Hello Everyone!!! I know that regular Sudafed is gluten free, but I am wondering about the 12 hour Equaline brand? I have heard conflicting reports on polysorbate 80? Anyway, here are the ingredients in case anyone knows. I so appreciate this forum! It has been SO HELPFUL! EQUALINE 12 HOUR DECONGESTANT (pseudoephedrine hydrochloride) tablet, film coated, extended release Active Ingredient: Pseudoephedrine HCl 120 mg Inactive Ingredients: carnauba wax, colloidal silicon dioxide, dibasic calcium phosphate dihydrate, hypromellose, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, polyethylene glycol, polysorbate 80, titanium dioxide