Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter


Advanced Members
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. Stephanie, In my experience, natural flavor has always been problematical as far as gluten is concerned. “Natural flavor” can mean an extract. Extracts are normally made using alcohol distilled from wheat.
  2. Whether it is spiced or not isn't the issue for those of us that are gluten intolerant. The fact that it's made from a mash containing gluten will make people that are intolerant sick. Yes, the gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process. However, the liquid that does...
  3. The distillation process does prevent the gluten protein from passing through the filtration process. However for people who are gluten intolerant like I am, the cross contamination that occurs prior to distillation is still present after distillation. Therefore while the protein molecule isn't...
  4. Maltodextrin may or may not be a gluten ingredient. If the dextrin portion is made from wheat it is. However it can also be made from corn or rice. Here's the problem. Kraft doesn't make the maltodextrin so according to the company, any ingredient that's supplied by an outside supplier, we don't...
  5. Hi, I know this thread is old but I'm in Swansboro. My husband and I moved here almost 6 years ago and I was diagnosed with Celiac 3 years ago. I can't find a support group, meetup group or anyone else that has Celiac even close to me. I would happily drive to Jacksonville or host a group...
  6. I understand that the contents of Lipton tea are gluten free. However, my concern is do they use a wheat glue as an adhesive for their tea bags. Yes, I'm that sensitive to gluten. I'm out of loose tea and so I was wondering if it's possible to safely buy Lipton tea bags or if I need to continue...
  7. I know this is probably going to sound crazy but here goes. If you enjoy tea and are very sensitive to gluten, you might want to switch to loose tea instead of tea bags. I learned last week that companies use wheat glue to glue the tea bags together on the assembly lines. I was getting sick even...
  8. There is a great website, www.glutenfreemeds.com It won't tell you about soy, dairy, nuts, etc. but it does give you a pretty complete list of drugs both RX and OTC that contain gluten. They also keep it up to date.
  9. I know the view on vinegar/alcohol is that the distilling process makes it "gluten free". However, I react to it if it's not distilled from corn, rice or potatoes. I know I'm in the minority but there those of us out there that the distillation process doesn't make it safe.
  10. There are a lot of brands of pickles that I can't eat. I have always been told to stay clear of things that say natural flavors because that can get you into trouble. I know I react to some dill pickles so not all pickles being safe is still true