-
Welcome to Celiac.com!
You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.
-
Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):
-
Get Celiac.com Updates:Support Our Content
Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'distilled'.
-
Celiac.com 07/21/2021 - Even with a clear declaration by the FDA that all distilled alcohol is gluten-free, we still get a lot of questions about alcohol, and cocktails. Specifically, get a lot of questions about gluten-free cocktails with Bombay Sapphire gin. One question we see a lot is about Bombay Sapphire gin. Specifically, is Bombay Sapphire gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? The short answer is yes. According to the FDA, all distilled spirits, including gin, are gluten-free, so that means Bombay Sapphire and other major gins, even those distilled from grains, are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Gin distilled from gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish, and are naturally gluten-free. Remember, unless gluten ingredients are added after distillation, all gin is gluten-free. As always, read labels, and choose carefully.
- 4 comments
-
- bombay sapphire
- celiac disease
-
(and 5 more)
Tagged with:
-
FDA Rules All Distilled Alcohol is Gluten-Free
Scott Adams posted an article in Safe & Unsafe Foods & Ingredients
Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish. The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “We commend FDA for this consumer-friendly ruling that will allow ‘gluten-free’ labelling claims to be included on distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains, and urge TTB to act swiftly to align policies allowing the same for distilled spirits products." Text of the new FDA ruling reads, in part: "[D]istillation is a process capable of separating gluten and other proteins from the remaining compounds...distillation must remove all protein (and thus gluten), regardless if the product has been distilled from gluten-containing grains. [Distillation] removes gluten because gluten does not vaporize. Therefore, there should not be any gluten remaining in the final distilled product. For this reason, a distilled product labeling may bear a “gluten-free” claim and should be safe for people with celiac disease to consume." The change means that manufacturers of distilled foods and beverages can now label their products as gluten-free without explanations about their gluten removal process. Gluten-free marketing has long been an issue of contention among regulatory bodies, people with celiac disease, and experts, with most scientists agreeing that the distillation process removes gluten from the final product. Health professionals and celiac support groups, like Celiac.com, and Coeliac UK, have long advised that distilled spirits are gluten-free and safe for celiacs on a gluten-free diet. Swonger said that “Allowing distillers to include a "gluten-free" statement on products made from gluten-containing grains will provide additional clarity for consumers to make informed choices about which products meet their dietary needs.” The rule will take effect on September 14, 2020. Read the full text at FDA.gov Read more at thespiritbusiness.com Resources: Here are some of the most common questions about gluten-free alcoholic beverages. Here's a helpful list of Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages -
Five Gluten-Free Cocktails with Bombay Sapphire Gin
Scott Adams posted an article in Gluten-Free Foods & Beverages
Celiac.com 07/23/2021 - Even with a clear statement by the FDA that all distilled alcohol is gluten-free, we still get a lot of questions about alcohol, and cocktails. Specifically, which brands of alcohol and cocktails are gluten-free. We especially get a lot of questions about gluten-free cocktails with Bombay Sapphire gin. Remember, unless gluten ingredients are added after distillation, all gin is gluten-free, so these recipes can also apply to other gin brands. Helpful Glassware & Barware: Mixing glass with Hawthorn strainer Long twisted bar spoon Measuring device Serrated knife & chopping board Bottle opener Looking for more great gin cocktails? The Bombay Sapphire website has has dozens of classic and custom cocktails for just about any occasion. Here are five great gluten-free cocktails with Bombay Sapphire gin: Classic Bombay Collins Bombay Sapphire freshly squeezed lemon juice and sugar, served long with cubed ice and chilled Fever-Tree soda water. Ingredients: 50ml Bombay Sapphire 15ml Freshly squeezed lemon juice 15ml Homemade sugar syrup 60ml Fever-Tree soda water (chilled & freshly opened) 1 Lemon Wedge Directions: Measure all ingredients (except the soda) into a cocktail shaker. Shake with cubed ice for 5 seconds, then pour entire contents into a balloon glass. Top with chilled & freshly opened Fever-Tree soda water, pour it down a twisted bar spoon to retain as much effervescence as possible. Classic Bombay Sapphire & Tonic Bombay Sapphire lengthened with Fever-Tree tonic water and a squeeze of fresh fragrant lime – bright, refreshing, up-lifting & divine. The ultimate expression of that quintessentially English classic, the ‘G&T’ Ingredients: 50ml Bombay Sapphire 100ml Fever-Tree tonic water 1 Lime Wedge Directions: Squeeze a lime wedge into a balloon glass. Add the Bombay Sapphire then swirl the glass to mix and infuse. Fully fill the glass with cubed ice and stir to chill and mix. Top with 100ml of Fever-Tree tonic water by pouring it gently down a twisted bar spoon to retain as much effervescence as possible. Finally, gently fold/stir with a bar spoon to combine. Bombay Laverstoke Summer Edition Sam Carter’s signature cocktail, the Bombay Sapphire Laverstoke is a happy marriage of MARTINI Rosato, Bottlegreen elderflower cordial, lime wedges, topped with Fever-Tree ginger ale. Not to be missed. Ingredients: 50ml Bombay Sapphire 10ml Bottlegreen elderflower cordial 15ml MARTINI Rosato Vermouth 2 lime wedges -fully squeezed 75ml Fever-Tree ginger ale (chilled & freshly opened) 1 Mint Sprig 1 thin ginger slice Directions: Squeeze two freshly cut lime wedges into a clean Balloon glass then drop in. Measure and pour in the Bottlegreen elderflower cordial, MARTINI Rosato Vermouth and Bombay Sapphire. Swirl well to mix. Fill the glass completely full of good quality cubed ice and stir with a bar spoon to chill. Pour the Fever-Tree ginger ale down a twisted bar spoon (into the spoon end) over the ice and gently stir the cocktail at the same time. 'Fold' to combine the liquids. Bombay Leggero Martini Cocktail This new hybrid cocktail combines your choice of Bombay gin with your choice of MARTINI vermouth, your choice of flavored tonic water & your choice of citrus peel. Ingredients: 25ml Bombay gin of your choice 25ml MARTINI vermouth of your choice 25ml tonic water of your choice Citrus peel disc of your choice glassware and barware Directions: Into an ice filled mixing glass, add the chosen tonic water, MARTINI & Bombay gin. Using a bar spoon, stir all ingredients well for 8-10 seconds. Once chilled, mixed & diluted, strain into a chilled Nick & Nora glass. Garnish by spritzing the citrus peel disc over the top of the cocktail & place on the rim of the glass by cutting a slit ½ way through the peel. Bombay Pomade Unlike the product made for hair, this ‘Pomade’ is a delicious marriage of pomegranate juice, Fever-Tree lemonade, red currants, and Bombay Sapphire gin. The result is a refreshing concoction that's perfect for summer. Ingredients: 50ml Bombay Sapphire 60ml Fever-Tree lemonade 6 fresh red currants 40ml Pomegranate juice Ice 1 Mint Sprig Directions: Pour the lemonade into a Copa de Balon glass. Shake Bombay Sapphire, Pomegranate juice and redcurrants with cubed ice in a cocktail shaker. Pour the entire contents into a Copa de Balon glass containing the lemonade. Top with extra ice if required. Garnish with awoken mint sprig.-
- bombay sapphire
- cocktails
-
(and 4 more)
Tagged with:
-
Celiac.com 10/26/2020 - The U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) has announced a new policy that permits any distilled spirits made from gluten-containing grains to be labeled as "gluten-free." The move follows a ruling by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in July that permits any distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains to be labelled "gluten-free." Previously, both rules permitted gluten-free labeling only on distilled spirits made from non-gluten ingredients, such as grapes, corn or potatoes. Following the FDA rule change, the Distilled Spirits Council of the US (Discus), an alcohol industry trade group, urged the TTB to update its policy to match FDA rules. In response, the TTB updated its rule on 13 October. Discus CEO and president, Chris Swonger, welcomed the move, saying that the new rule "...provides additional clarity for consumers and allows for more information to assist them in making informed decisions about what products meet their dietary needs. This policy update also provides greater flexibility for industry members in labeling their products." To match the new policy, the TTB has rewritten the rules for gluten content statements on labels and in advertisements for distilled spirits, wine and malt beverages regulated under the Federal Alcohol Administration Act. Under the revised ruling, TTB permits the use of the term "gluten-free" for labeling if the product meets FDA regulations for gluten-free labeling. However, companies are required to follow manufacturing practices that prevent any gluten-containing material from entering the final product. Additionally, TTB will continue to allow labels and advertisements for products fermented from gluten-containing grains to declare that the product has been processed to remove gluten. The TTB will require documentation to support the claim. It has long been known, and scientifically proven, that distillation removes removes gluten from the final product, and that all distilled spirits are gluten-free. Numerous health professionals and celiac support groups, such as Celiac.com and Coeliac UK, permit the consumption of spirits as part of a gluten-free diet.
-
09/01/2020 - Fresh from an FDA ruling that distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as “gluten-free,” the Distilled Spirits Council (DISCUS), the trade body for America’s spirits, is now pressing the U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) change their policies to align the the FDA, and to permit all distilled products to be labeled as "Gluten-Free." The FDA's new ruling says that the distillation process removes all gluten from the finished product, even if the original ingredients contained gluten. The ruling is consistent with the advice of numerous allergy and nutrition groups, including Celiac.com, and the National Celiac Association, which state that distilled spirits, even those made from a gluten-containing grain, such as wheat, rye or barley, are gluten-free and should be considered safe for people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance. The FDA ruling helps to pave the way for for distilled foods and beverages made from gluten-containing grains to be labelled as “gluten-free.” However, a few regulatory hurdles remain. Chief among them, TTB policy currently states that some people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities could become sick from spirits made from grains such as wheat. The TTB rule means that only spirits made from non-gluten-ingredients such as grapes, corn or potatoes, or products specially treated to remove gluten, may be labeled as gluten-free. DISCUS president, Chris Swonger, says the ruling will allow "gluten-free" labelling claims on distilled beverages made from gluten-containing grains. Swonger says that his organization is now urging TTB “to act quickly to revise their 2014 interim policy on gluten content statements to align with FDA’s final rule and begin allowing "gluten-free" statements on distilled spirits products made from gluten-containing grains. A change by the TTB, says Swonger, will permit a "Gluten-Free" label on distilled products made from gluten-containing grains, and will “provide additional clarity for consumers to make informed choices about which products meet their dietary needs.” These developments are big news for people with celiac disease who drink distilled beverages, and also for drinkers, in general, who will have more clarity.
- 5 comments
-
- alcohol
- celiac disease
-
(and 6 more)
Tagged with:
-
What is Gluten? Gluten is a huge molecule held together by smaller molecules linked together called amino acids. A very tiny part of the gluten molecule can initiate a response. If each amino acid that makes up gluten is represented as a single letter that very tiny part would be: SGQGSFQPSQQ. There are other sequences of amino acids that cause a reaction in gluten sensitive individuals, but the point is, as tiny as this fragment is with respect to the entire gluten protein, it is still HUGE with respect to the size of ethanol (the stuff you are drinking). What is Alcohol? The alcohol you drink is ethanol. Ethanol is smaller than the size of the smallest amino acid in the smallest fragment of gluten that has been shown to initiate an autoimmune reaction. More specifically, ethanol is about 10 atomic mass units smaller than just the G in the sequence shown above. What are Amino Acids? The G is glycine, and by the way, each of these amino acids (represented by letters) by themselves is safe, and sold at most health food stores. For example Q = glutamine (yes, “L-glutamine,” the same amino acid mentioned in a recent post and used to heal intestinal damage). If the protein is viewed as beads on a string, then one of those beads might be good for you, but certain sequences strung together can initiate an allergic reaction of many types from acute peanut allergy to less-than-obvious gluten sensitivity. What is Distillation? When a distillation is performed, pure ethanol is separated away from all of the other “stuff” that forms as a result of fermentation. This is because ethanol is volatile (meaning it becomes a gas in the distillation process). Imagine a vat of fermentation products, you heat it, and only the volatile molecules like ethanol enter a tube attached to the vat. This tube is not just any tube - it is a curved condensation tube! Here is what it does: While the heated gas form of ethanol floats into it (because that is what gases do), the molecules are cooled and condense back into a liquid, and fall into a new sparkling clean vessel containing the stuff that intoxicates you and any other volatiles. So the fancier distillation columns that are actually used industrially also purify the ethanol away from other volatiles. Gluten does not stand a chance of “crossing over” because it is not volatile. Here is a simplified analogy. Let's say you put some sand in the bottom of your tea kettle. If you take the spout off your tea kettle, and attach a condensing tube to the opening (a curved tube would be the simplest type of condensing tube but there are many elaborate types), you could distill your water away from the sand. The condensing tube would be curved so as to open into a new clean pot. Let us pretend that the sand is gluten and the water is ethanol. When you heat to the boiling point, the liquid becomes gas so it travels into the condenser, cools and becomes liquid, then falls into the clean pot. Now having read that, is there any way that the new clean pot would contain any sand? No, and distilled alcohol (ethanol) does not contain any gluten. Remember, gluten is not volatile. Another non-volatile compound is table salt. So you could perform a distillation at home, with salt water. Has anyone ever inadvertently done this? Boiled a pot of salt water, perhaps to make some Tinkyada pasta, and walked away to do something else. You came back to find your pot almost empty with white crusty stuff (salt) all inside the pot. So the gluten is left behind in a distillation process. If malt is added to the distilled product it will be disclosed on the ingredients label. What is Vinegar? Vinegar is formed by fermentation in a similar way that ethanol is formed by fermentation. The process is to take ethanol and ferment it with bacteria. Later, there is a filtration to remove the bacteria. Rarely, vinegar is fermented from wheat-based alcohol. “Distilled vinegar,” gets its name from the fact that it was fermented from distilled alcohol. Why is Vinegar Still Questioned? The answer could be, perhaps, because so many people report a reaction to it and vinegar-based products. The never-ending fear is that cross-contamination during the fermentation process is leading to barely detectable amounts of gluten in the finished product (by barely detectable, I mean in terms of commercially available tests). Since the vinegar is rarely distilled post fermentation from the ethanol, the “messy” nature of the second fermentation step could pose a problem, especially for highly sensitive individuals. If the alcohol gets all used up by the bacteria, the bacteria go on to form carbon dioxide and water from the vinegar. So alcohol is periodically added in the fermentation process. Conceivably, one “shortcut” would be to just add beer at this juncture. Adding beer or some other form of cheap malted alcohol would keep the culture alive, and increase the “quality” and yield of the vinegar. Another fear is that the bacterial “mother” as it is called, contains trace gluten through cross-contamination. Claims that these practices actually take place are unsubstantiated by evidence. Why are Distilled Spirits Still Questioned?That is a good question, I do not know.Take a Short Quiz on this Topic: You bought mustard and pickles at the grocery store. These products contain “distilled vinegar” according to the ingredients labels, and the label does NOT say “contains: wheat.” Are the mustard and pickles gluten-free? Rum, gin, whiskey, and vodka are distilled beverages. If they are not flavored with something that contains wheat (would be declared on the label), rye, or barley (usually in the form of “malt”), are they gluten-free? What is wrong with the following statements (they have all been cut and pasted from various blogs and forums on the topic of celiac disease)?a. “Most alcohols are distilled in such a way that any wheat gluten is no longer present.”b. “Even trace amounts of gluten that make it past the filter system can be harmful.”c. “It seems improbable to me, too, that gliadin could survive the distillation process.” Answers: Yes, unless you have reason to believe otherwise, in which case you should simply avoid them. Yes. 3a. All alcohols, if distilled, have been removed from any type of gluten. 3b. Distillation is nothing like a filtration. We are not separating small from large, there is no filter. Filtration would be like how your coffee pot separates water from the coffee grains. A tear in the filter would result in a big problem, right? Filtration is a separation based on size, distillation is a separation based on volatility. 3c. Do we care whether gliadin (a name given to part of wheat gluten) “survives” the process or not? No, because it has been left behind to stew in its own juices in the distillation pot. Your stuff (the ethanol) has floated away, and entered a new, clean pot. Some people have this idea that we heat the fermented mixture to smithereens and it somehow decomposes the molecules of gluten. Clearly, such a process would be ineffective or else we could simply “cook,” “roast,” “fry,” or “burn” the gluten out of our foods, and we know that we cannot do that.
-
Celiac.com 12/10/2000 - As reported in Ann Whelans September/October issue of Gluten-Free Living, the American Dietetic Association (ADA) has released the 6th edition of its Manual of Clinical Dietetics, which offers revised guidelines for the treatment of celiac disease. This manual is currently used by hospitals and doctors all over North America, and represents the most up-to-date source of information with regard to the dietary treatment of various illnesses. The new standards set in this publication conform more closely with current international standards. Included on their safe list are items that have been on Celiac.coms safe list for over five years, including: amaranth, buckwheat, distilled vinegar (no matter what its source), distilled alcoholic beverages (including rum, gin, whiskey and vodka), millet, quinoa and teff. A team of American and Canadian dietitians wrote the new gluten-free guidelines, including: Shelley Case, RD, Mavis Molloy, RD, Marion Zarkadas, M.Sc.RD (all from Canada and all members of the Professional Advisory Board of the Canadian Celiac Association), and Cynthia Kupper, CRD, CDE (Executive Director of the Gluten Intolerance Group and celiac). Additional findings of this team regarding buckwheat and quinoa contradict what has been accepted as common knowledge for years by some US support groups, mainly that these two grains are more likely to be contaminated by wheat than other grains. In fact, according to the team, buckwheat and quinoa are far less likely to be contaminated than most other grains. At the most basic level the new guidelines mean that celiacs do not need to avoid foods containing unidentified vinegar or distilled alcohol, this alone will allow much more freedom when shopping or eating out. Further, celiacs who drink alcohol will have much more freedom and a far greater choice when they want to have a drink. Additionally, celiacs will be able to more easily maintain a well-rounded and nutritious diet because they will have access to a far greater number of highly nutritious and safe grains. The ADAs 6th edition of the Manual of Clinical Dietetics represents the first time that Canadian and United States dietary guidelines have come together to create a united North American gluten-free standard, and will hopefully lead to the adoption of a single standard by all US support groups so that hundreds of thousands of celiacs will not have to unnecessarily exclude more foods than necessary. These new guidelines go a long way towards an international standard, which should be the ultimate goal for all celiacs and celiac organizations in the world.
- 33 comments
-
- american
- association
-
(and 8 more)
Tagged with:
-
White vinegar or just plain vinegar are typically distilled, and, if so, are gluten-free. Distilled vinegar can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples and many other things. Most in the USA are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all safe (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn). Distilled vinegars that are made from wheat are probably gluten-free because of the distillation process described in Frederik Willem Janssens article on this site. Distilled vinegar made from wood are gluten-free. Wood-based vinegar is often the vinegar used in processed foods. Flavored vinegars are made with white, distilled vinegar, and flavorings are then added. Some of these may also not be gluten-free (the cheapest vinegars are used since the flavors are masked by the herbs and flavoring). Malted vinegars are usually not gluten-free. Red and white wine and balsamic vinegars are gluten-free.
-
Celiac.com 06/27/2011 - In order to protect the propriety of their products, distilleries can be reluctant to disclose process details. Yet their disclosure is crucial for those of us who are unable to consume gluten. Recently, I investigated a potato vodka and gin distillery in Freeport, Maine where this is not the case. Don Thibodeau, president of Green Thumb Farms, launched Maine Distilleries in 2004 with his brother, Lee Thibodeau, and managing partners, Bob Harkins, director of sales and marketing, and Chris Dowe, head distiller. Maine Distilleries is dedicated to the production of three spirits that are sold under its Cold River label. Green Thumb Farms, a 2,000-acre family-owned farm located in Fryeburg, Maine, produces potatoes, beans, and corn in the alluvial soils of the Cold River. I started my visit there with Don. The farm’s clients include Frito-Lay and super market chains Whole Foods Market and Shaws. For as long as they can remember, Don and Lee had discussed vodka production as a potential use for the farm’s off-grade, cull potatoes which are too small, too big or too blemished to sell. “If the potatoes are not beautiful,” explained Don, “they don’t go into the bag.” Nowadays, customers also look for clean potatoes. In years past, potatoes were bagged dirty, because they stay fresher that way. The cleaning and sorting of potatoes is a complex process involving several pieces of equipment including one called an “Odenburg.” An Odenburg is an automatic grader with beams of light, or electronic eyes, that sense variations in color - and sorts potatoes accordingly. Yes, customers are even selective about color. As production increases at the distillery, Maine Distilleries will look beyond Green Thumb Farms for cull potatoes, which is really good news for the potato farmers of Maine. According to the Maine Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources, Maine ranks eighth in the country in the production of potatoes. At Maine Distilleries, a small, copper pot “still” stood out from the rest of the equipment. It belonged to Don’s and Lee’s late father, Larry, a third-generation Presque Island area potato farmer. Don and Lee grew up listening to stories their father told of making potato vodka during the prohibition period. Many of the local potato farmers in years past had stills just like this one. Larry’s old copper pot was small enough to fit in the back seat of my car. As I began my tour, I couldn’t help but wonder what Larry might think of Maine Distilleries’ very large, copper pot still. The still’s enrichment column is two stories high. Assistant distiller, Ben Francis, gave me a tour of the facility and its five processes, which are mashing, fermentation, distillation, blending and bottling. We began at the mashing kettle. Potatoes are conveyed (on a belt) to the mashing kettle from a nearby storage area. Mashing breaks the potatoes’ starches down into sugars, which takes approximately 12 hours. The resulting mash, also called “potato soup,” is discharged through piping to fermentation kettles. Yeast is added to the potato soup in the fermentation kettles, and consumes the sugar, producing ethanol. Fermentation takes one to two days, according to Chris Dowe, the head distiller, and the yeast is kosher and naturally gluten free. The resulting “potato wine” is about 9 percent ethanol. Water and solids make up the remaining volume. The potato wine is discharged through piping from the fermentation kettles into holding tanks in the distillation room. Each batch is distilled three times in the copper bottom still in order to separate the ethanol from the water and the solids. After the first distillation, the ethanol is approximately 50 percent; after the second distillation, 95 percent; and after the third distillation, 96 percent. Boiling point is crucial to the success of distillation. The enrichment column extending from the copper pot still is kept cooler at the base in order to prohibit the water and the solids from vaporizing and traveling up along the column with the ethanol, which has a much lower boiling point. Most large commercial distilleries use continuous, stainless steel stills. But distilled spirits experts claim that hand-crafted spirits that are produced in small batches in copper stills are superior to continuous, stainless steel methods. Maine Distilleries’ copper pot still was itself hand-crafted in Stuttgart, Germany. Stuttgart is known for its custom copper fabricators as well as this particular copper pot still design. After the third distillation, the resulting ethanol is blended with deionized spring water to produce Cold River’s vodka. The spring water originates from the Cold River/Saco Valley aquifer at Green Thumb Farms. Some manufacturers add compounds (such as glycerol) to improve the smoothness or taste of a vodka; such is not the case here. Maine Distilleries has been selling Cold River’s classic vodka since 2005. In 2009, Maine Distilleries launched its second product, Cold River’s blueberry-flavored vodka. It was a logical choice, explained Ben, because Maine is the world’s largest producer of blueberries. Maine Distilleries uses low-bush, wild blueberries from Jasper Wyman & Son, of Milbridge, Maine, a family-owned enterprise that is known as the leading U.S. grower, packer, and marketer of wild blueberries. To make blueberry-flavored vodka, Maine Distilleries infuses macerated blueberries in its classic vodka. After several days of infusing, the ethanol is drawn off and blended with the deionized spring water and a small amount of cane sugar. No artificial flavors or aromas are added to this product. In August 2010, Maine Distilleries launched its third product, Cold River’s gin. Botanicals are added to the classic vodka to make the gin. The botanical blend, which dates back to the early days of British gin, contains juniper berries, coriander, lemon peel, orange peel, orris root, angelica root, and cardamom. After the botanicals are added to the classic vodka, it is distilled for a fourth time and then blended with the deionized spring water to produce Cold River’s gin. Alcohol beverage labeling is regulated by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau of the U.S. Treasury. Under the Bureau’s current labeling regulations, Maine Distilleries is not permitted to print “gluten-free product” on its bottles. Since the passage of the U.S. Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act in 2004, the Bureau has promised to finalize and implement labeling regulations that would require allergen statements on all bottles. Three million people with celiac disease and another 18 million with gluten sensitivity have been eagerly awaiting the final approval of these long overdue regulations. Cold River’s classic vodka has acquired an impressive number of awards for such a new product. In September 2007, it earned a Five-Star Premium Recommendation from Spirits Journal. In 2008, it was named to Wine Enthusiast’s prestigious list of “Top 50 Spirits,” and earned the magazine’s sole “Classic (96-100) / Highest Recommendation” rating for 2008. It went on to earn Double Gold at San Francisco’s 2008 World Spirits Competition, and was featured as “The Best American Vodka” in spirits expert F. Paul Pacult’s Kindred Spirits 2. Are Cold River’s vodkas and gin gluten free? Until the new regulations are finalized, it’s tough to say. Meanwhile, disclosure at Maine Distilleries is as clear as the Cold River. FOR MORE INFORMATION: Green Thumb Farms http://greenthumbfarms.com Maine Distilleries http://www.mainedistilleries.com Gluten Free Dietician - Labeling of Alcohol http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/newsletter/2011/01/18/gluten-free-labeling-of-alcohol/ Note: Alcohol beverage labeling for gluten free beer; or, wine and cider containing less than 7 percent alcohol (by volume), is regulated by the Food & Drug Administration.
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):