Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'gelato'.
Found 2 results
The other day while shopping I looked over the label of a Talenti Gelato product that once said “Gluten Free”, here is the question that I submitted to the Corporate Office: Hello Sir or Madam, I have a question regarding your product labeling. It seems that most if not all of the Talenti products no longer have "gluten free" printed on them., however when you check the products on your website it is only there where it is indicated to the customer if in fact it is "gluten free". I am a customer with Celiac Disease and I HAVE to remain 100% gluten free. The two simple words "Gluten Free" puts my mind at ease that I am buying a product that will not make me extremely sick. Those two words ensure that gluten is not hidden in some of the ingredients such as vanilla. Is there a reason why "gluten free" has been removed from all the labeling? Can Talanti not ensure their products are in fact "gluten free"? If so, as a person with Celiac Disease I really need to know, since this is not a lifestyle choice for me. Thank you for your time and I look forward to your response. Rick Here was their responce: Hi Rick, Thanks for reaching out and for being a Talenti fan! The flavors that used to say gluten free are still gluten free, however with a recent packaging update all of the claims (including gluten free, kosher, vegetarian, etc.) were removed from the label. All of our products are made in the same facility and we do not have separate lines for our flavors that contain gluten. Although we follow all FDA regulations to avoid cross contamination and call ourselves gluten free, many people have different ideas of what should be labeled as gluten free, so we would prefer that our consumers check our ingredients and make the decision for themselves depending on their level of sensitivity. In addition to the gluten free discrepancies, there is also more than one definition for kosher, vegetarian and vegan, so we’ve removed all claims. Our procedures and recipes have not changed, and all of the product information on our website is up to date and accurate. We have even added a “Gluten Free” filter to our products page to help our consumers easily search for a list of our gluten free flavors. Check out our new and improved product page here: http://www.talentigelato.com/our-products/ Please feel free to reach out with any further questions – we hope you continue to enjoy! Best Regards, Kelly And this was my response to their answer/reasoning: Although we follow all FDA regulations to avoid cross contamination and call ourselves gluten free, many people have different ideas of what should be labeled as gluten free, so we would prefer that our consumers check our ingredients and make the decision for themselves depending on their level of sensitivity. In addition to the gluten free discrepancies, there is also more than one definition for kosher, vegetarian and vegan, so we’ve removed all claims. Hi Kelly, thank you for the reply and explanation of the current changes. With this being said the new stance of Talenti saddens me, unlike Kosher, vegetarian and vegan, which are all choices or beliefs with zero health impacts, Celiac Disease on the other hand is not a choice, lifestyle or religious belief. Sadly for me and probably others with Celaic Disease we can not risk the exposure. If FDA guidelines are followed and ingredients are 100% Gluten Free in accordance with the guidelines then there should not be an issue with having a Gluten Free, or better yet, "Certified Gluten Free" label on all appropriate products. But instead I am reading that this guarantee will no longer be and it is up to the consumer to figure out whether or not they'll have an negative reaction to a product that is listed as Gluten Free on the Company's Website. At this point I can only hope that Talenti will one day change their position on this topic, and sadly until then I can no longer enjoy their products that I was once such a big fan of. Thank you very much for your time. Rick This is clearly just my opinion based on the inforation they have provided me, but sadly with my level of sensitivity to cross contamination I can no long purchase their product with the risk getting sick. Maybe if enough people send in emails and stop purchasing their products they'll change their position. And in the meantime, I will continue to enjoy Yasso Greek Yogert treats.
I just noticed that some Talenti gelato flavors that were previously labeled "gluten-free" on the tubs no longer have that statement. Is it possible that these flavors are no longer gluten-free? On their website, it says they are gluten-free, but no indication on the label. I'm talking about the Mediterrenean Mint and Butter Pecan in particular. What is the deal with this?