Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'marshmallow'.
Found 3 results
View full article
Celiac.com 06/05/2019 - Campfire and cookout season is upon us once again, and that means roasted marshmallow season is also upon us. People often ask us if marshmallows are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. The short answer is that nearly all major brand marshmallows sold in the United States are gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free celiac diet, even when not specifically labeled. Marshmallows made outside the U.S. may contain wheat starch or other gluten ingredients, so be careful if you're dealing with non-American brands. In the U.S., there are two major marshmallow makers, Kraft Foods Inc. and Doumak Inc. Both make marshmallows without gluten ingredients. These companies make nearly all major marshmallow brands, like Kraft, Campfire, Jet, and store brands. They also make most marshmallows sold as private store brands. Kraft Kraft's policy is to disclose all gluten-containing ingredients on its labels. Although Kraft marshmallows are not labeled "gluten-free" or tested for trace gluten, Kraft says that their marshmallows are not subject to gluten cross-contamination in production. Doumak Doumak calls itself "The American Marshmallow Company," and makes Campfire brand marshmallows, as well as many private store brands, including Walmart and CVS brands. All Doumak marshmallows are gluten-free. As always, read labels, and check with manufacturers as needed, and trust your gut. Make Your Own Gluten-Free Marshmallows Don't want to bother with major brands? Make your own gluten-free marshmallows at home with this recipe for Gluten-Free Vanilla Marshmallows from Blessherheartyall.com. Starbucks Gluten-Free Marshmallow Dream Bar If you need a reliable marshmallow treat, try Starbucks Gluten-Free Marshmallow Dream Bar Lastly, while nearly all marshmallows are gluten-free, products made with marshmallows may or may not be gluten-free, so read labels carefully. If you're dealing with a marshmallow product, like Peeps, say, be sure to look for clearly marked Gluten-Free labels. Do you have a marshmallow story? Share it below!
Celiac.com 11/05/2013 - Halloween is over, and this year we offered a fun alternative to the standard store-bought fare--marshmallow caramel puffs. They are fun and easy to make, and kids just love to help make them, and, of course, to eat them. They turned out great, so I thought I'd share them here for next year. This recipe makes a dozen marshmallows, but it's easy to scale accordingly. Ingredients: 1 dozen regular marshmallows 1 dozen Kraft caramels ¾ cup almonds, crushed 6 ounces melted dark chocolate Directions: Place crushed almonds into a bowl. Melt caramels in a double-boiler. Dip marshmallows halfway into the melted caramel. Remove, and let the excess drip off, then dip in crushed almonds. Place on a lightly oiled parchment-lined baking sheet until set. Drizzle white tops with melted chocolate. Allow to cool and serve. Note: Any marshmallows made by the Kraft, or Doumak companies are gluten-free. This includes Jet Puffed, Campfire, WalMart, and CVS brand marshmallows. Kraft caramels are also gluten-free.