Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'wrigleys'.
Found 2 results
Hi, I wanted to submit some new info on the altoids smalls. They have been banned previously by celiacs due to wheat maltodextrin listed as an ingredient. However, I just noticed that on their tin, there the wheat maltodextrin is no longer listed in the ingredients. So, I wrote to wrigley's asking about that. Here's the replyi received: "Thanks for taking the time to contact the Wrigley Company. We really care about your questions and feedback. We had changed the formula with in the last couple years were we took the wheat maltodextrin out of the Altoids Smalls Mints. If the old tin you have says wheat maltodextrin it would be the old formula. If you have any additional questions or comments feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY (974-4539) Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST or visit us at www.wrigley.com." I thought that was great. But I wrote them again because I was still wondering about any other gluten possibly hiding in there. Here's their response: "Thanks for taking the time to contact the Wrigley Company. We really care about your questions and feedback. We are not using any oats, rye, barley, gluten or wheat in the Altoids Smalls Mints. The tin will not say gluten free on them. Because the ingredients are not tested or certified as gluten free. The only two products that have ever been certified gluten free are our Skittles Candy and Starburst Candy. Which you will see the gluten free statement on the outer packaging. If you have any additional questions or comments feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY (974-4539) Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST or visit us at www.wrigley.com." So it sounds like they are most likely ok now, except for the most sensitive of us. Just thought I'd share the info.
Em314 posted a topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & MedicationsHave looked into Wrigleys' and am feeling kind of confused about their gluten-free status. There's info, but nothing especially recent. Their AUNZ site lists gluten-free products, but the US site kind of passes the buck: Do Wrigley’s products contain gluten? While some Wrigley products may contain gluten, the majority of our products are gluten-free. In general, we avoid using ingredients that contain gluten where they serve no functional purpose or can be replaced by gluten-free alternatives; however, ingredients and formulas may vary between regions. When the use of ingredients containing gluten is critical to the product taste experience, we follow all labeling requirements to allow our consumers to make an informed choice. We always advise consumers who are concerned about food sensitivities to read the label and check with their doctor if they have questions. My big question is on the ingredient "HYDROGENATED STARCH HYDROLYSATE," which sometimes means gluten and sometimes does not. I know folks have reported having "symptoms" after, but I also knw the articial sweeteners can cause similar symptoms.