This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Sit Down Dinner Wedding Reception Help!

GFDonna

GFDonna Newbie

Help! I am fairly new to gluten-free and I have been invited to a wedding I have to respond to soon. The bride is vegetarian so the entree choices were ziti or chicken. I have only gone to one small family event other than that we cook at home or go to restaurants with gluten-free menus. Do I chose chicken and hope for the best? Do I add a note that I will attend but will not be eating? Do I ask the bride if she knows if any of the food being served is gluten free? This is a good friend of my husband's and it is an hour from our home in a rural location I have never been to.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

captaincrab55 Enthusiast

GFDonna,  "Hope for the Best", isn't an option for those that must eat gluten-free!!!      You must step up and ask if there's a gluten-free option offered!     I've found Chefs for Weddings to be very knowledgeable and go out of their way to accommodate our gluten-free requests.

Good Luck, 

BlessedMommy Rising Star

I would not eat the food without researching beforehand.

Personally, at the last reception that I went to, I carried snacks in my purse and ate only my own food. But the reception was privately handled, so I didn't feel confident that much of anything would be safe.

GottaSki Mentor

I do one of two things:

Call the bride or groom and ask if you can have the email contact for their caterer.  I've had brides try very hard to obtain me a safe meal and quite frankly it is a waste of their precious time.